New Chair Appointed For Goulburn-Murray Water

28 August 2018

The Andrews Labor Government has appointed Diane James as the new Chair for Goulburn Murray Water.

Ms James comes to the role with a wealth of experience and a strong history in the corporate sector, leading business transformation, financial turnarounds and community engagement.

She is currently Chair of Southern Rural Water, overseeing several major irrigation projects including upgrades to networks in the Macalister, Werribee and Bacchus Marsh irrigation districts.

The Labor Government is continuing to support GMW as it transitions towards a new model to improve its business operations, keep water prices low for customers and irrigators, and support the future growth of the irrigation district across Northern Victoria.

Minister for Water Lisa Neville said she looked forward to GMW’s transforming the business to ensure it was best placed to provide sustainable services at affordable prices into the future.

Minister Neville has specifically tasked Ms James to ensure the transformation process is a key priority and that the Board and the Management of GMW embrace the process – and a key part of that is improving engagement with the local community.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Water Lisa Neville

“Diane James is a strong leader with a strong record and is the ideal person to steer Goulburn-Murray Water forward.”

“The key priority I have set for Diane is to ensure we have a financially viable and affordable business that can meet the needs of the region and irrigators.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?