New Appointments To Drive Coal Mine Rehabilitation

13 February 2024

The Allan Labor Government is ensuring the rehabilitation of the Latrobe Valley’s coal mines sees them transformed into safe and stable sites, as the state’s transition to renewable energy continues.

Minister for Energy and Resources Lily D’Ambrosio has appointed a new chairperson and a deputy chairperson to the board of the Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority (MLRA).

The MLRA is an independent statutory body working with the community, industry and government to oversee the rehabilitation of declared mines, which are currently the three Latrobe Valley coal mines.

Ms Therese Ryan has started a five-year term as Chairperson of the MLRA board. She brings a wealth of relevant experience to the role and replaces Emeritus Professor Rae Mackay who has chaired the board since June 2020.

With a record of delivering results across the resources sector in exploration, project development, construction, operations, and mine closure, Mr Jon Crosbie has been appointed the MLRA board’s Deputy Chairperson for five years. He replaces Ms Christine Trotman who has filled the role since June 2020.

The MLRA board comprises of six members with a diverse range of experience and oversees the implementation of the Latrobe Valley Regional Rehabilitation Strategy (LVRRS). The board is responsible for the managing and overseeing the affairs of the MLRA, including providing advice to the Minister for Energy and Resources.

In October the Government released the first amendment to the LVRRS to reflect the rapidly evolving context for coal mine rehabilitation, build on water access guidance and provide more detail on future opportunities for the community and stakeholders to have their say.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Energy and Resources Lily D’Ambrosio

“The transition to renewables brings many opportunities for the Latrobe Valley including transforming the coal-fired power stations and mine sites for new uses.”

“We thank all former and current MLRA board members for their contribution to establishing the organisation and progressing mine rehabilitation planning in the Latrobe Valley.”

Quote attributable to Member for Eastern Victoria Harriet Shing

“Mine rehabilitation is a critical part of planning for the Latrobe Valley’s future and these new appointments will provide expert input into this process and ensure the community’s interests are at the heart of any future plans.”

Reviewed 13 February 2024

Was this page helpful?