Celebrating Victoria’s Aboriginal Leaders

25 October 2022

The Andrews Labor Government is honouring the tireless work and strength of Aboriginal Victorians with recognition on the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll.

Nine Aboriginal leaders have been inducted into the prestigious Honour Roll at a ceremony in Melbourne to formally acknowledge and celebrate their wide-ranging achievements and invaluable contributions.

Inductees recognised this year include leaders from a diverse range of fields including the arts, education, justice, land rights, sports, health and wellbeing and support for children, young people and families.

All inductees, or family representatives, received a handcrafted malgaar for the men, and a tarnuk for the women, which are replica shields and traditional water carrying vessels handcrafted by celebrated Taungurung artist
Mick Harding.

The nine Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll inductees for 2022 are:

  • Albert ‘Pompey’ Austin (posthumous) – Djab Wurrung
  • Collin Hood (posthumous) – Djab Wurrung
  • Elaine Taylor – Wemba-Wemba/Bunurong
  • Eva Jo Edwards – Boon Wurrung/Bunurong/Mutti Mutti/Yorta Yorta
  • Francis Laxton – Gunditjmara
  • Graeme Austin – Gunditjmara
  • Lola James – Yorta Yorta
  • Marion Hansen – Kamilaroi
  • Patrice Mahoney OAM – Anaiwan Nation.

Victoria is proudly leading the nation with its support for advancing treaty and truth, and the
Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll is one of the ways the state celebrates, honours and memorialises the stories, voices and achievements of First Peoples.

More information on the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll is available at: Link .

Quotes attributable for Acting Minster for Treaty and First Peoples Colin Brooks

“Each inductee has strived to make their communities better, stronger and fairer places – they deserve our respect, gratitude and recognition.”

“Congratulations to all the inductees and their families and thank you for sharing these inspiring stories of courage, passion and resilience withall Victorians.

Quote attributable to Parliamentary Secretary for First Peoples Christine Couzens

“The Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll celebrates Aboriginal history and culture and ensures these stories are never forgotten.”

Reviewed 27 October 2022

Was this page helpful?