Women’s Honour Roll Receives New Inductees

10 March 2019

Twenty-one inspiring and exceptional women have been inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women.

Minister for Women Gabrielle Williams today paid tribute to the 2019 inductees, who include women who have made enormous contributions to society in fields such as business, education, policing, health and medical research, and public life.

The latest inductees have been recognised as part of three distinct categories: trailblazers, change agents or local champions. Each and every one has made a long-lasting contribution to making our state a better place for women – and for all Victorians.

Each year, the Honour Roll celebrates exceptional women in Victoria who have made significant and lasting contributions to their communities, the nation or the world. The latest inductees will join more than 600 remarkable women named in the Honour Roll since it commenced in 2001.

This year’s inductees include the posthumous induction of Margaret Connor, who joined Victoria Police as a ‘female agent’ in 1917, but had no uniform, powers of arrest, and was paid only half the wage of her male colleagues.

Margaret Connor continued to campaign for pay parity and better working conditions, prompting better salaries and rights for policewomen.

Other inductees include world-renowned infectious disease physician Professor Sharon Lewin, Royal Children’s Hospital stalwart Mary McGowan and women’s tennis pioneer, Judy Tegart-Dalton.

The Andrews Labor Government is enshrining gender equality in law for the first time in Australian history, with the development of legislation that proposes Victorian Government departments, the public sector and local governments achieve gender equality through quotas, action plans and reporting.

A full list of the inductees can be found on the next page.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Women Gabrielle Williams

“On International Women’s Day, we’re paying tribute to a group of exceptional and inspirational women who have left an indelible mark on society. They are giants in their field.”

“I’m so proud to be joining these fabulous women to celebrate the enormous contribution they have made making the lives of people all over Victoria, Australia and the world so much better.”

Women’s Honour Roll 2019 inductees

  • Catherine Cini
  • Margaret Connor
  • Professor Jane den Hollander AO
  • Lisa Hardeman APM
  • Aunty Lynne Killeen
  • Professor Sharon Lewin
  • Felicity Marlowe
  • Mary McGowan
  • Lorna Morris OAM
  • Casey Nunn ASM
  • Professor Robyn E O’Hehir AO
  • Professor Marilyn Renfree AO FAA
  • Cr Coral Ross
  • Liberty Sanger
  • Joan Scott
  • Faye Spiteri
  • Judy Tegart-Dalton
  • Professor Emeritus Doreen Thomas
  • Professor Beverley Vollenhoven
  • Aunty Lyn Warren
  • Ms Kathryn Watt OAM

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?