Victoria's Next Electoral Commissioner Appointed

20 July 2023

The Andrews Labor Government has today confirmed the appointment of Victoria’s new Electoral Commissioner, an important role that ensures fair, transparent and independent elections in our state.

Respected public sector executive Sven Bluemmel has been appointed to the position following an independent recruitment process overseen by the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Mr Bluemmel has led high-profile statutory bodies across multiple jurisdictions and has served as Victoria’s Information Commissioner since 2017.

With much of his career dedicated to maintaining the highest standards of integrity and independence, Mr Bluemmel is ideally placed to lead the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC). His 10-year term will begin on 15 August.

As Electoral Commissioner, Mr Bluemmel will play a vital role in leading the planning of all state, local government and other elections, and managing the VEC’s engagement with the Parliament’s oversight body, the Electoral Matters Committee.

The VEC is an independent and impartial statutory authority established under the Electoral Act 2002.

Mr Bluemmel replaces Warwick Gately AM who retired in April following a decade in the role. In this time, Mr Gately oversaw a number of important projects, including the delivery of three state elections and two local government general elections.

The Government thanks Deputy Electoral Commissioner Dana Fleming for her contribution while acting as Commissioner following Mr Gately’s retirement. Ms Fleming will continue in that role until Mr Bluemmel commences his term.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Government Services Danny Pearson

“Fair and impartial elections are at the heart of democracy in Victoria and as a highly regarded figure in the public sector, Sven Bluemmel is the ideal person to take on this role.”

“I want to thank Warwick Gately for his service as Electoral Commissioner over the past 10 years, overseeing three state elections and implementing landmark reforms to Victoria’s electoral laws in 2018.”

Reviewed 20 July 2023

Was this page helpful?