Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Young Victorians Selected For 2015 Youth Parliament

17 April 2015

More than 100 young people from many different backgrounds have been chosen to participate in the 29th Youth Parliament later this year, Minister for Youth Affairs, Jenny Mikakos announced today.

Teams of young people from regional and metropolitan areas – including Hoppers Crossing Secondary College, Wangaratta High School and the Korin Gamadji Institute – will spend three days “taking over” Parliament House to debate issues that are important to them and influence future legislation.

Youth Parliament, run by the YMCA, is one of the state’s signature events for young people. Youth parliamentarians will this year sit in the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council chambers from 29 June.

Participants will attend a training weekend prior to their Parliament sitting days, where they will learn about the skills required to be successful in Parliament such as relationship building, teamwork, public speaking and leadership.

On their final sitting day the Youth Governor of Victoria will hand over the final Bills passed by the Parliament to the Minister for Youth Affairs for her consideration.

Over the past 20 years, more than 20 Bills passed by Youth Parliament have gone on to become law, including compulsory bike helmets, nightclub safety reforms, .05 blood alcohol content for those accompanying learner drivers, and the legal recognition for carers of people with disabilities

The Andrews Labor Government provides $75,000 per year for YMCA Victoria to deliver the Youth Parliament program. For more information visit Link . Below is the list of confirmed participating teams in the 2015 Youth Parliament.

  1. Hobsons Bay City Council
    2. Mount Alexander Shire
    3. Melbourne Girls College
    4. Hoppers Crossing Secondary College
    5. Overnewton Anglican Community College
    6. Gannawarra Future Leaders Parliament Team
    7. AIME (Australian Indigenous Mentoring Experience)
    8. Korin Gamadji Institute
    9. Ivanhoe Girls Grammar
    10. Wellington Shire Youth Council
    11. Westbourne Grammar School
    12. Swinburne University
    13. Glen Waverley Secondary College
    14. Kangan Youth Foyer
    15. South-East Koorie Mob
    16. Phoenix P-12 Community College
    17. Pascoe Vale Girls College
    18. Wangaratta High School

Quotes attributed to Minister for Youth Affairs, Jenny Mikakos

“The very strong interest in this year’s Youth Parliament program is proof that young Victorians are really keen to participate in public debates and policy development. I am just as keen to hear their ideas.”

“The diverse backgrounds and experiences of the young parliamentarians will bring a broad range of opinions to the debate table and throw up ideas that could benefit all young Victorians.”

“I wish all this year’s Youth Parliament members success in standing up, speaking out and being heard about what they believe in.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?