Welcoming Our Newest Multicultural Commissioners

22 November 2017

The Andrews Labor Government has appointed three new commissioners to the Victorian Multicultural Commission (VMC).

Minister for Multicultural Affairs Robin Scott today announced Sukhjit Kaur Khalsa (Youth Commissioner), Walter Rapoport and Rosaria Zarro as VMC commissioners.

Each commissioner brings skills and experience that will support Victoria’s diverse communities and strengthen multiculturalism and social cohesion in Victoria – key priorities for the Andrews Labor Government.

Commissioners were selected to ensure representation from different cultures, genders, occupations and social backgrounds, as well as representation from various areas of Victoria.

They will join current commissioners Ross (Spiro) Alatsas (Deputy Chairperson), Sundram Sivamalai (Community Representative Commissioner) and Tina Hosseini, who have been re-appointed.

The VMC was established in 1983 and operates under the Multicultural Victoria Act 2011 as a conduit between culturally diverse communities and the Victorian Government.

It provides independent advice to inform the development of legislative and policy frameworks, as well as information and advice on the delivery of services to the state’s multicultural community.

A biography on each commissioner and the chairperson, Ms Helen Kapalos, can be found at

Quotes attributable to Minister for Multicultural Affairs Robin Scott

“Each of our commissioners have an important role to play in encouraging all Victorians to celebrate our multicultural society and promote mutual respect.”

“I congratulate Ross Alatsas on his reappointment as deputy chairperson, recognising his long-standing commitment to multiculturalism.”

“I look forward to working with our new appointees and thank the outgoing commissioners for their hard work and dedication.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?