Victoria’s Sheffield Shield Champions Visit Parliament

27 March 2015

Premier Daniel Andrews has welcomed the state’s champion Sheffield Shield winners to Parliament House.

Requiring only a draw to collect a 29th First Class crown, Victoria’s batsmen denied Western Australia the silverware on Wednesday.

Mr Andrews joined captain Matthew Wade, Test veteran Peter Siddle, and star spinner Fawad Ahmed – who stunned the Warriors on his way to figures of 8/89 – to help Victoria celebrate the Shield victory.

He also paid homage to veteran coach Greg Shipperd, who leaves the Victorian fold after steering the Bushrangers to four First Class championships, four Twenty20 triumphs and a One-Day crown.

Victoria’s achievements are all the more extraordinary given the Bushrangers’ long list of roadtrips during the summer. Forced away from its native MCG due to the ICC World Cup, Victoria played nine of its 11 First Class games interstate. Even the “home final” was staged in Hobart.

It’s a concern Victoria will soon avoid, as the Andrews Labor Government has committed to upgrading St Kilda’s Junction Oval to First Class standards capable of hosting international events.

The new home of Victorian cricket will feature women’s facilities, a high performance training centre and a capacity of 7000.

The Labor Government’s investment will give Victoria’s Sheffield Shield champions the permanent home they deserve.

Quotes attributable to Premier of Victoria, Daniel Andrews

“Victorians should stand and applaud the Bushrangers’ grit and determination in denying Western Australia, thanks to a stubborn display with the bat on the final day.”

“Victorian cricketers do their state proud anywhere on any ground, but it’s great to know they’ll soon have a permanent home they truly deserve when the MCG is unavailable.”

Quotes attributable to Minister for Sport, John Eren

“A world-class Junction Oval is just the thing for Victoria to grow its cricket stocks, lure more major events and ensure the all-conquering Bushrangers stay at the top of Australian cricket.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?