Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Victorian Disability Advisory Council Announced

03 October 2019

The Andrews Labor Government has today announced the appointment of 12 members to the next Victoria Disability Advisory Council, including the new Chair Brent Phillips.

The Victorian Disability Advisory Council provides advice to the Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers Luke Donnellan on what the Government can do to build a more inclusive Victoria and to increase opportunities for people with disability.

The Council has an important role in developing Victoria’s next state disability plan for 2021–2024, liaising with communities and promoting rights and inclusion.

The Victorian Disability Advisory Council members are: Brent Phillips (Chair), Colin Hiscoe, George Taleporos, Amanda Lawrie-Jones, Astrid Edwards, Caitlin Syer, Eliza Hull, Gabrielle Hall, Jax Jackie Brown, Karen Fankhauser, Martin Heng and Sholam Blustein.

Mr Phillips is a leader in the Deaf community and brings a high level of insight into government policy frameworks on disability. He is currently a director at Expression Australia.

The Council’s three-year term will continue to July 2022.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers Luke Donnellan

“I’d like to congratulate all the new members of the Victorian Disability Advisory Council and I look forward to working together to realise our goals for a more inclusive Victoria.”

“Listening to the voices and experiences of people with disability through the Council is a critical part of understanding how services and systems can be redesigned so that they work better for all Victorians.”

Quote attributable to Victorian Disability Advisory Council Chair Brent Phillips

“I am honoured to lead a diverse and passionate group of individuals and work closely with Minister Donnellan as we navigate a significant period for Victorians with disability and the broader sector.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?