Vicprize Supporting Best And Brightest For Two Decades

26 October 2017

The Andrews Labor Government has announced the recipients of the Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation and Victoria Fellowship at an awards ceremony held by veski at Melbourne’s Investment Centre.

The Labor Government partnered with veski – an organisation dedicated to fostering an innovative economy – to celebrate the awards, which help recipients take the next steps in their science and research discovery journeys.

This year Professor Jane Visvader and Professor Geoffrey Lindeman from The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research were jointly awarded the $50,000 Victoria Prize for Life Sciences.

Professors Visvader and Lindeman have worked collaboratively for 19 years uncovering the role of molecular and cellular events that give rise to breast cancer.

Professor Maria Forsyth from Deakin University was awarded the $50,000 Victoria Prize for Physical Sciences for her ground-breaking research in electrochemical sciences, which lead to the development of new fuel cell designs for battery storage.

Victoria Fellowships were awarded to 12 early career researchers valued at up to $18,000 each to assist them with an international study mission – six in life sciences and six in physical sciences.

Victoria’s world-class capabilities in scientific research, engineering and design, cyber security, life sciences and medical technologies industries are testament to the state’s high quality universities and research institutions and the students they produce.

The recipients will help to shape Victoria’s future economy by driving new ideas and products in our industries and enhancing the state’s reputation as a global centre for discoveries and technology.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Innovation and the Digital Economy Philip Dalidakis

“These prizes show how much talent we have in Victoria and I’d like to congratulate both the winners and our universities.”

“We’re supporting our innovators because they help our economy – their discoveries and new ideas will create the jobs and industries of the future.”

Quotes attributable to Parliamentary Secretary Small Business and Innovation Frank McGuire

“Congratulations to the 2017 Victoria Prize recipients and Fellows for their unwavering dedication to their work and the contribution they make to our community.”

“We’re proud to have these world-leading researchers and scientists here in our state – they’re great international ambassadors for Victoria’s innovation capabilities.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?