Safety Award Winners Unveiled As Regional School And Inner City Council Shine

28 October 2015

A country school, an inner city council and a heavy haulage company that specialises in road construction are among the winners of the prestigious 2015 WorkSafe Awards.

The annual WorkSafe Awards recognise and celebrate individuals and employers who have demonstrated a significant contribution to workplace health and safety in Victoria. The awards were announced today at the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on the final day of WorkSafe Victoria’s Health and Safety Week.

Minister for Finance Robin Scott congratulated all seven winners and all finalists for their determination to make their workplaces even safer.

Timboon P-12 School was awarded the OHS Achievement for its program promoting farm safety among its students, the City of Yarra won Employer Excellence in Return to Work for the way it returns its injured workers back to work, and Whelans Group Investments of Bairnsdale won Health and Safety Invention of the Year for developing a special trailer which does not need to be elevated to be unloaded.

Other winners included:

  • ANC Forestry Group in Morwell, awarded Best solution to a specific workplace health and safety issue
  • Warners Nursery in Narre Warren, awarded Commitment to Workplace Health and Wellbeing
  • Sean Mathews from Eastern Health in Ringwood, awarded Health and Safety Representative of the Year
  • Paula King from Dyson Group of Companies in Bundoora, awarded Return to Work Coordinator Excellence

Quotes attributable to Minister for Finance Robin Scott

”Workplace safety is everyone’s business and it is fantastic to see so many people and organisations striving to keep others safe at work.”

“These stories of innovation and hard work will inspire others to do more themselves.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?