Recognising Excellence In Victorian Schools

28 October 2016

A Warrnambool teacher with a passion for improving children’s wellbeing has taken out the top gong at the 2016 Victorian Education Excellence Awards.

The awards recognise outstanding principals, teachers, business managers and school support staff from Victorian government schools.

Minister for Education James Merlino presented Warrnambool Primary School teacher Jacqui Gore with the Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education at the awards ceremony in Melbourne.

Warrnambool Primary School also won the Outstanding Koorie Education Award for the Indigenous inclusion program Ms Gore developed and led.

The Changing the Tide @ Jamo program was developed with the help of local Elders to help build cultural pride and connections with both the school and the wider Warrnambool community.

Ms Gore also designed a program to teach children life lessons that focus on being good global citizens, as well as another program to strengthen children’s emotional intelligence and resilience.

There were nine category winners covering inclusive education, school advancement, education support, Koorie education, outstanding business manager, outstanding primary and secondary school teacher and principal.

Each category winner receives professional development and research grants ranging from $20,000 to $25,000, with Ms Gore receiving an extra $20,000 for winning the Lindsay Thompson Award.

More information about the awards is available at Link

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education James Merlino

“We’re proud to celebrate the life-changing work of education professionals in our government schools.”

“Jacqui Gore is a great example of the passionate and talented teachers we have in Victorian schools who help our children get the best start to life.”

“All finalists across the nine categories deserve our praise and thanks for the crucial work they are doing to give Victorian kids a great education.”

2016 Victorian Education Excellence Award winners:

Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education: Jacqui Gore, Warrnambool Primary School

Outstanding Koorie Education Award: Warrnambool Primary School

Outstanding Inclusive Education Award: Williamstown North Primary School

Outstanding School Advancement Award: Tallis Street Campus - Northern Bay P-12 College

Outstanding Education Support Team: Maryborough Education Centre – Specialist Setting

Outstanding Business Manager Award: Shirley Niblett, Lara Secondary College

Outstanding Primary Teacher Award: Jacqui Gore, Warrnambool Primary School

Outstanding Secondary Teacher Award: Hayley Dureau, Mount Waverley Secondary College

Outstanding Primary Principal Award: Jenny Manuel, Wilmot Road Primary School

Outstanding Secondary Principal Award: Peter Corkill, John Monash Science School

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?