Over 100 Victorian Aboriginal Leaders Now Honoured

10 October 2018

Nine inspiring Aboriginal leaders have been inducted into the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll at a ceremony last night in Melbourne.

The Honour Roll celebrates the achievements of Victorian Aboriginal people, past and present. This year marks the eighth year of the Honour Roll, with more than 100 Aboriginal Victorians now inducted.

Each inductee has dedicated their life to helping others and giving back to their community, while fighting for self-determination and equality.

This year well-loved community Elders, advocates for change, health workers, political activists and Aboriginal inclusion crusaders were recognised. They include:

  • Ben ‘Lanky’ Manton (1841-1929)
  • Norman McDonald (1925- 2002)
  • Johnny Lovett
  • Graham ‘Bootsie’ Thorpe
  • Jacqui Stewart
  • Geraldine Atkinson
  • Barb Gibson-Thorpe
  • Terry Garwood
  • Cherie Marie Waight (1962-2014)

Their personal stories will be added to the Honour Roll, which is on permanent display in the Victorian Parliament.

To read their stories, visit Link

Quotes attributable to Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Natalie Hutchins

“The Honour Roll acknowledges and celebrates the contribution of Aboriginal people whose tireless work and commitment to community has made Victoria a better place.”

“Congratulations to all of the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll inductees. Their legacies as leaders should be celebrated and shared among all Victorians.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?