New Members Appointed To Parks Victoria Board

12 November 2015

Four new board members were this week appointed to the Parks Victoria board, by Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water Lisa Neville.

The new board members bring a range of skills and experience to the board, which oversees and monitors the business of Victoria’s park management authority.

The new appointees are:

  • Ms Kate Vinot - Principal and Lead - Utilities, Environment and Infrastructure at Nous Group. She has experience in senior and executive roles at water corporations, and holds tertiary qualifications in science, engineering and business.
  • Ms Christine Trotman - Chief Executive Officer of Cooinda Hill, a disability support service based in the Latrobe Valley. She has held management and executive roles in health and education, and has tertiary qualifications in nursing, health education, business and accounting.
  • Mr Darrell Wade - Co-founder of Intrepid Travel and Chief Executive Officer of the Intrepid Group, a global provider of adventure travel experiences. Mr Wade is also a former recipient of the NAB Smart Company Award.
  • Ms Rosemary Hehir - Director of the board of Lifeworks and a member of Melbourne Health’s Human Research Ethics Committee. She was previously Chief Executive Officer of YWCA; and has tertiary qualifications in political science and criminology.

Three other members – Mr Andrew Grant, Ms Natalie O’Brien and Professor Robert Wallis – have been re-appointed to the Parks Victoria board for a third term.

Chairperson Andrew Fairley and board member Ross Passalaqua continue their current tenure until 2017.

Today’s announcement coincides with the arrival of Parks Victoria’s new Chief Executive Bradley Fauteux. Mr Fauteux commences Monday 16 November and is the former Managing Director of Ontario Parks and a Board Member at the Canadian Parks Council. As a champion of the Healthy Parks Healthy People approach to park management, Mr Fauteux will bring energy and strong leadership to Parks Victoria.

On behalf of the Victorian Government, Parks Victoria manages approximately four million hectares of parks and waterways. The Parks Victoria Board is accountable to the Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water Lisa Neville

“The new board members bring first-class knowledge and expertise in a variety of fields, including business, health and human services, education, tourism, and natural resource management.”

“It is pleasing to see more board appointments that reflect our commitment to equal representation of women on Government boards and councils, and the appointees’ credentials exemplify that there are women with the skills and experience required.”

“I thank the outgoing members for the valued contributions to the Parks Victoria board, and look forward to the contributions of the new members.”

“Victoria’s parks support people and jobs, and it is vital that we have a board that offers effective governance for our park management statutory authority, Parks Victoria.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?