New Directors Appointed To TAC Board

21 February 2017

The Andrews Labor Government today announced the appointment of two new directors to the Transport Accident Commission (TAC) Board.

David Heath and Samantha Smith this week joined the Board, bringing with them a wealth of experience in finance, marketing and business.

Mr Heath is an actuary with Cumpston Sarjeant in Melbourne and has extensive experience in general insurance and accident compensation.

Dr Smith is the director of Melbourne agency Pinnacle, consulting to the private sector, not for profits and government. Dr Smith is also a member of the WorkSafe Victoria Board.

The TAC Board is responsible for the governance of the Commission, ensuring the scheme is managed efficiently and to the maximum benefit of the people of Victoria.

Its roles include safeguarding the assets of the TAC scheme, ensuring the reliability of financial reports and compliance with all relevant laws.

Members of the TAC Board are nominated by the Minister for Finance and the Minister for Roads and Road Safety before being appointed by the Governor-in-Council.

The two new appointments bring the number of non-executive TAC directors to nine.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Finance Robin Scott

“Our new board members bring a great deal of skill and knowledge to the Transport Accident Commission board.”

“Their combined expertise will strengthen the TAC and help it deliver on its mission to be the world’s leading social insurer.”

Quotes attributable to Minister for Roads and Road Safety Luke Donnellan

“Both directors bring solid knowledge and experience to the TAC boardroom, and will help ensure that we continue to deliver the best possible service to all Victorians.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?