Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Latrobe Valley Mine Rehab Committee Looks To The Future

01 March 2017

The future of Gippsland’s three open-cut coal mines will be the focus of the newly-formed Latrobe Valley Mine Rehabilitation Advisory Committee.

Minister for Resources Wade Noonan today met members of the Committee who held their first meeting in Morwell.

The Andrews Labor Government established the Committee in response to the Hazelwood Mine Fire Inquiry.

Committee members include Latrobe Valley residents, the Latrobe City Council, water authorities, the Aboriginal community, unions, and mine operators – including Engie, AGL and EnergyAustralia.

It will respond to key recommendations from the Mine Fire Inquiry, gather community feedback and discuss mine rehabilitation options and future land-use in the Latrobe Valley.

The Committee will provide advice directly to the Minister for Resources on the development of the Latrobe Valley Regional Rehabilitation Strategy, which will address key issues around long-term mine rehabilitation proposals.

Former Latrobe City councillor Ms Susan Lloyd will serve as the inaugural chairperson of the Committee.

The Labor Government is working to give the people of the Latrobe Valley certainty. As part of a $266 million package of support for the Valley, a new Economic Growth Zone will help create jobs and economic opportunities in the region.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Resources Wade Noonan

“While the former Coalition Government abandoned the Latrobe Valley – we’ve listened and taken action to give certainty to the communities who need it most.”

“The Valley is experiencing unprecedented change, and this new committee will explore future rehabilitation options for the region’s coal mines.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?