Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Kruger, McCrohan, Lanyon Reappointed To Racing Board

27 September 2021

The board of Racing Victoria has been bolstered with the reappointment of directors Brian Kruger, Sharon McCrohan and Ross Lanyon.

Minister for Racing Martin Pakula said Mr Kruger, Ms McCrohan and Mr Lanyon will serve the state’s peak racing body for a further four years.

Mr Kruger was appointed to the board as chair in 2017 and was previously vice-chair and treasurer of the Moonee Valley Racing Club. He has significant business experience having held executive positions at Toll Holdings and BlueScope Steel.

Ms McCrohan was appointed in 2017 and brings experience in government and communications to the board, having worked as communications director in the Office of the Premier of Victoria. She is also a board member of the Traffic Accident Commission and the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation.

Mildura-based Mr Lanyon, also a member for four years, is a former chair of Country Racing Victoria and with a newspaper business background brings to the board significant experience in media, marketing and regional issues. He is a former board member of one-time industry broadcaster TVN.

The Racing Victoria board will nominate a chair in accordance with the Racing Victoria constitution.

Mr Pakula acknowledged the service of retiring board member Rowen Craigie, who decided not to seek reappointment following his permanent relocation to New South Wales. A new Racing Victoria board member will be appointed via the process outlined in the Racing Victoria constitution.

Thoroughbred racing is an important contributor to Victoria, particularly in rural and regional areas, generating more than $3.2 billion in economic activity annually.

Racing Victoria has overseen industry-wide observance of strict biosecurity protocols and work practices over the past 18 months that have enabled racing to continue, keeping more than 25,000 trainers, stable staff, jockeys, breeders, vets, farriers, float drivers, administrators and others employed.

For further information on the board, go to Link .

Quotes attributable to Minister for Racing Martin Pakula

“I’m delighted that Brian Kruger, Sharon McCrohan and Ross Lanyon will continue in their roles on the board, and I thank Rowen Craigie for his outstanding contribution to Victorian racing.”

“The RV board has shown determination and skill in meeting the extraordinary challenges of the past 18 months. It has meant that racing has continued, horses have been cared for and thousands of people have kept their jobs.”

“With strong leadership, a focus on integrity and animal welfare and innovation in our racing program, Victoria remains at the centre of Australian racing.”

Reviewed 27 September 2021

Was this page helpful?