Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Honouring Our Outstanding Aboriginal Victorians

07 November 2019

A teacher, an opera singer and a community radio presenter are among 10 Aboriginal Victorians acclaimed for their tireless work on the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll.

Set up in 2011, the Roll was established to pay tribute to outstanding Victorians who have made a difference in the Aboriginal community.

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Gavin Jennings announced this year’s inductees at a gala event in Melbourne, which include:

  • Aunty Frances Mathyssen-Briggs
  • Edward Alfred Lovett OAM
  • Aunty Eleanor A Bourke
  • Aunty Eunice Wright
  • Uncle Jim Remedio
  • Aunty Zeta Thomson
  • Aunty Margaret Clarke
  • Aunty Helen Belle Bnads
  • Karen Heap
  • Deborah Cheetham AO

Each inductee has dedicated their life to helping others and giving back to their community, fighting for self-determination and equality.

Their personal stories will be added to the Honour Roll, which is on permanent display in the Victorian Parliament.

To date, 117 Victorians have been added to the Roll. To read their stories visit

Quotes attributable to Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Gavin Jennings

“This year’s inductees have done so much for themselves, their families and their communities – and it’s wonderful to see their efforts recognised.”

“The Honour Roll provides a space for current and future generations of Aboriginal Victorians to be seen and celebrated for their contributions – this is vitally important.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?