Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Giving Victorian Students a Voice

15 October 2017

Schools, students and teachers from across Victoria have been recognised for their work giving students the opportunity to have their say.

Minister for Education James Merlino recently presented the Victorian Student Representative Council (VicSRC) Recognition Awards to students, teachers and principals at a ceremony in Melbourne.

The awards recognise the important role teachers have in nurturing and instilling leadership skills in young people and the contribution students make in being actively involved in decision making in their schools and community.

This year’s winners include Emerald Secondary College, which was awarded the Group Action Award for its Pride Inclusion Project aimed at raising awareness of bullying.

Some of the initiatives the College has introduced includes organising Diversity Week events and building a sensory garden as a place for students and the wider school community to meet.

Yarram Secondary College teacher, Melanie Mitchell, was named Teacher of the Year, for her role as a mentor to members of the Student Representative Council.

Melanie, who has encouraged students to take a proactive role in decisions regarding the future direction of the College, was also a strong supporter of a student-led campaign to revive the school’s drama productions.

Held annually, the awards cover five categories: Teacher of the Year, Student Representative Council of the Year for both primary and secondary schools and a Youth Leadership Award.

In August, students, teachers and principals were invited to apply for an award in one or more of the five categories.

Winners share in $20,000 in prizes which can be used to fund student voice initiatives, social change campaigns, student representative council activities and student leadership opportunities.

The VicSRC was established in 2003 and is the peak body representing school students in Victoria.

The Department has provided funds to the VicSRC to support student voice in Victoria since 2007 and funding for the awards strengthens student voice and leadership.

The VicSRC Recognition Awards form part of the Andrews Labor Government’s Education State, including a focus on empowering students and building school pride.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education James Merlino

“If we want to get the best out of our students we need to listen to them and these awards recognise the hard work that is done by the Victorian Student Representative Council across our state.”

“The VicSRC helps make sure that students have a real voice in how their schools work and what the Education State looks like. Congratulations to all award winners, you should be incredibly proud of what you have achieved.”

2017 VicSRC Recognition Awards Finalists

Department of Education and Training Group Action Award

Emerald Secondary College - Winner

Moomba Park Primary School – Runner up

Mount Waverley Secondary College – Runner up

Pearson Australia Teacher of the Year Award

Melanie Mitchell – Yarram Secondary College - Winner

Liam Doyle – Portland Secondary College –Runner up

Anna Gage – Brauer College – Runner up

Newsboy Foundation Youth Leadership Award

David Trevorrow – Braybrook College - Winner

Bryce Pace – Brauer College – Runner up

Tabitha Anderson – Epping Secondary College – Runner up

Department of Education and Training Student Representative Council of the Year – Primary

Rosanna Primary School - Winner

Clifton Springs Primary School – Runner up

Swan Hill Primary School – Runner up

Department of Education and Training Student Representative Council of the Year – Secondary

Sacred Heart College, Geelong - Winner

Forest Hill College – Runner up

Bendigo Senior Secondary College – Runner up

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?