Free Kinder Reminder For Families In Drought Affected Communities

10 February 2016

As the new kinder year kicks off, the Andrews Labor Government is reminding families in Victoria’s drought-affected communities that they are eligible for free kinder in the year before school.

As part of the drought assistance package announced last year, free kindergarten is available to all families living in 10 drought affected local government areas of Victoria.

Families in these communities have been doing it tough as they face difficult dry conditions and financial hardship – and they deserve the support of government.

To clear up any confusion caused by the Coalition’s misinformation campaign in these communities, the Government is writing to kinders and local governments to make clear the range of support available for them and local families.

To make it easier, families will be automatically eligible for free kinder if they live within one of the 10 local government drought affected areas.

The Labor Government also announced last year a new funding model for small rural kinders to help address the uncertainty caused by fluctuating enrolments year on year in small communities.

Under the new funding model a small rural kinder with four enrolments, for example, will receive $67,056 this year – more than $22,000 better off than under the previous Liberal Government’s model.

The Andrews Labor Government is making Victoria the Education State – this means giving all kids access to quality early years learning services.

Quotes attributable to the Minister for Families and Children Jenny Mikakos

“We are supporting families doing it tough in drought affected communities by making sure all children have access to free kinder.”

“Making Victoria the Education State means ensuring children don't miss out on a kinder education because of drought.”

“We are acutely aware that the effects of drought are felt beyond the farm gate and that’s why we’re making sure children don't miss out accessing a kinder education.”

Eligible Local Government Areas

  • Buloke
  • Central Goldfields
  • Gannawarra
  • Hindmarsh
  • Horsham
  • Loddon
  • Northern Grampians
  • Pyrenees
  • West Wimmera
  • Yarriambiack

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?