Emergency Workers Receive Australia Day Honours

25 January 2017

Twelve Victorian emergency service members have made the 2017 Australia Day Honours List for their dedicated service to the people of Victoria.

Minister for Emergency Services James Merlino and Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio today congratulated the staff and volunteers receiving the prestigious medals in fire and emergency services.

Nine staff and volunteer members of the Country Fire Authority, Metropolitan Fire Brigade and the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DEWLP) received the Australian Fire Service Medal for distinguished service in Australian fire services.

William Bowery, CFA volunteer and Australia Day Citizen of the Year 2012, was among the list of this year’s Australian Fire Service Medal recipients.

Mr Bowery, a Life Member of Kangaroo Flat CFA, was honoured for 67 years of service and commended for his work in community education and the Fire Safe Kids program.

Australian Fire Service Medal recipient Kendra Dean was honoured for her 30 years of service in operational policy and forest management roles with DEWLP.

Ms Dean held the position of State Agency Commander from 2008 until 2016, and led the response to the Victorian Bushfire Royal Commission on behalf of the department.

Emergency Service Medal recipient John Retchford, Bush Search and Rescue’s longest serving Field Organiser, was honoured for 55 years of volunteer service.

He lead numerous searches in Victoria and interstate including a 10-day search through difficult terrain in Wilsons Promontory in 1987.

A Victorian volunteer from the Victoria State Emergency Service (VICSES) and a volunteer from the Volunteer Marine Rescue were also awarded the Emergency Services Medals.

For more information on all of the 2017 Australia Day honorees, visit Link .

Quotes attributable to Minister for Emergency Services James Merlino

“Our medal recipients have long-spanning careers in fire and emergency services and I am proud to see their dedication to protecting Victorians’ communities is being rewarded through our nation’s highest honours system.”

“On behalf of the Victorian Government and indeed all Victorians, I congratulate every one of these twelve medal recipients for this well-deserved recognition.”

Quotes attributable to Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio

“The staff and volunteers honoured today display a level of passion and commitment to fire and emergency services that goes above and beyond what is expected of them.”

2017 Australian Fire Services Medal recipients

Name Agency Years of service Region
Kendra Dean DEWLP 30 years Melbourne
Phil Pringuer DELWP 16+ years Melbourne
Adam Dalrymple MFB 32 years Melbourne
Paul Leslie King CFA 30+ years Wodonga - Indigo Shire.
Henry Charles Barton CFA 45 years Warrnambool
Anthony Reginald Archer CFA volunteer 32 years Kilmore
William Bowery CFA volunteer 67 years Kangaroo Flat
Graham Petrie CFA volunteer 57 years Kara Kara
James Donald Robertson CFA volunteer 35 years Strathkellar – Southern Grampians

2017 Emergency Services Medal recipients

Name Agency Years of service Region
Shane Lapworth VICSES volunteer 15 years Whittlesea
John Retchford Bush Search and Rescue volunteer 55 years Melbourne
Garry Moncrieff Volunteer Marine Rescue 36 years Mornington

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?