Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Disaster Assistance For Victorian Floods And Storms

15 October 2016

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and Victorian Minister for Emergency Services James Merlino today announced that disaster assistance has been activated for nine new local government areas in response to the floods and storms that have been affecting Victoria. Minister Keenan said assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA). “Both the Australian and Victorian governments are committed to working together to support flood and storm affected communities across the state,” Mr Keenan said.

“We are providing additional assistance to support recovery efforts, after ferocious winds and ongoing flooding continues to impact communities across Victoria.”

The activation of NDRRA provides councils and state government agencies with the opportunity to apply for funding to help reimburse counter disaster operations such as sandbagging and construction of temporary levees, and the restoration of essential public assets such as roads and stormwater infrastructure.

As well as funding for the councils, relief payments are also available to eligible individuals affected by the floods and storms within the nine new affected areas of Baw Baw, Cardinia, Casey, Frankston, Hobsons Bay, Hume, Nillumbik, Whitehorse, and Wyndham.

Disaster assistance has now been activated for a total of 48 councils across Victoria affected by floods and storms.

Minister Merlino said NDRRA assistance will be extended to other areas as required.

“Assistance is available to support people who are suffering personal hardship, as well as funding for local councils to help with the cost of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets,” Mr Merlino said.

“Anyone who has been affected by the flooding or storms should call the Victorian Emergency Recovery Information Line on 1300 799 232 for assistance.”

The 48 local government areas receiving NDRRA assistance are: Alpine, Ararat, Ballarat, Baw Baw , Benalla, Bendigo, Buloke, Campaspe, Cardinia, Casey, Central Goldfields, Colac Otway, Corangamite, Frankston, Gannawarra, Glenelg, Greater Shepparton, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Hindmarsh, Hobsons Bay, Horsham, Hume, Indigo, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mansfield, Melton, Mitchell, Moira, Moorabool, Mount Alexander, Moyne, Nillumbik, Northern Grampians, Pyrenees, Swan Hill, Southern Grampians, Surf Coast, Towong, Wangaratta, Warrnambool, West Wimmera, Whitehorse, Wodonga, Wyndham, Yarra Ranges and Yarriambiack.

Re-establishment grants of up to $32,500 per household are also available to eligible individuals in the flood affected Southern Grampians, Buloke Shire and Yarra Ranges areas.

Information regarding disaster assistance available can be found on the Vic Emergency website at Link or the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at Link

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?