Dairy Food Safety Victoria Welcomes New Board Members

18 October 2015

Minister for Agriculture Jaala Pulford today announced the appointment of a new board for the state’s dairy food safety regulator.

The Dairy Food Safety Victoria board is made up of six members who, with the Chair Mr Grant Davies, are responsible for maintaining regulatory oversight of the dairy food industry to ensure world-class standards are maintained.

The dairy industry is significant in Victoria with more than 4,000 dairy farms, 1 million dairy cows and a substantial processing industry that delivers more than $2 billion of exports annually – more than 80 per cent of our national dairy exports.

The new members include:

  • Dr Michael Blake, National Program Manager at AusBiotech
  • Ms Helen Dornom, Manager Sustainability at Dairy Australia
  • Ms Josephine Davey, Director at Pirrama Consulting
  • Dr Julie Simons, Director Rural Development and Transition at the Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources.

The new members will join returning board members, Mr Peter Bailey and Mr Peter Moloney. Each member has been appointed for three years, in recognition of their wide range of industry experience and knowledge.

In line with the Andrews Labor Government’s commitment to appoint 50 per cent of women to Victorian boards, half of the appointments to the board are women.

Ms Pulford acknowledged departing members Ms Zoe Attwood (Deputy Chair), Mr Keith Mentiplay, Mr Barry Lierich and Mrs Margaret Darton for their commitment to the dairy food industry.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Agriculture Jaala Pulford

“The appointed board members boast a diverse range of industry, health and governance experience enabling them to lead the regulation of Victoria’s nationally-recognised dairy food industry.”

Dairy Food Safety Victoria plays a vital role in safeguarding our significant dairy food industry, which accounts for over 80 per cent of national dairy exports.”

“I would like to thank all new and returning board members for their dedication and commitment to consumer protection and food safety within Victoria’s dairy food industry.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?