Celebrating Victoria's Specialist Teachers And Staff

20 November 2015

Minister for Education James Merlino has congratulated all the winners of this year’s Principals’ Association of Specialist Schools (PASS) awards.

Opening the awards on Friday night, Mr Merlino said the PASS awards were a chance to celebrate the outstanding achievements of those working with children and young people with disabilities at Victoria’s specialist schools.

The Andrews Labor Government’s commitment to building the Education State is based on a fundamental belief that with the right teaching and support every student can learn and succeed.

This means supporting all children, including those with disabilities, to achieve their full potential.

The Labor Government’s Special Needs Plan is a key part of transforming Victoria into the Education State.

The plan comprises nine initiatives aimed at ensuring that students with disabilities are given the opportunities they need to be their best.

Initiatives include the appointment of a dedicated professional to help schools support students with challenging behaviours, a review of the Program for Students with Disabilities, a new $10 million Inclusive Schools Fund and the introduction of an Outstanding Inclusive Education Award to the annual Victorian Education Excellence Awards.

The Victorian Government is proud to sponsor the PASS awards – which recognise the achievements of staff at Victorian specialist schools across nine categories.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education, James Merlino

"PASS is committed to excellence and innovation in Victorian specialist education, and these awards celebrate the people in our state who are doing that every single day."

"Every award winner has made an outstanding contribution to the learning, wellbeing and life outcomes of Victorian kids with disabilities. These awards recognise their excellence and commitment."

PASS Awards Winners 2015

Outstanding Education Support: Andrew Lamb, Berendale School in Hampton East

Outstanding Early Childhood Teacher: Jade Gervasi, Swan Hill Specialist School in Swan Hill

Outstanding Specialist Teacher (joint winners): Tracey Cole, Sunbury and Macedon Ranges Specialist School in Sunbury; and Jodie Gilbert, Katandra School in Ormond

Outstanding Primary Teacher (joint winners): Britt Holmberg, Kalianna Special School Bendigo in North Bendigo; and Annemaree Hunter, Yarrabah School in Aspendale

Outstanding Secondary Teacher: Kim Burns, Echuca Specialist School in Echuca

Outstanding Allied Health: Simone Ryan, Jacana School for Autism in Jacana

Outstanding Team: Deborah Lyons, Garry Heald, Maylene Sands and Jeff Heritage from Sunbury and Macedon Ranges Specialist School in Sunbury

Outstanding Leading Teacher: Anne-Maree Nicholson, Naranga School in Frankston

Outstanding Principal: Scott Tucker, Frankston Special Developmental School in Frankston

Reviewed 10 February 2021

Was this page helpful?