Recognising Our Dedicated Volunteers

25 March 2022

Jaya Manchikanti is the 2021 Premier’s Volunteer Champion of the Year for her selfless work supporting the physical and emotional wellbeing of Victoria’s Indian community.

Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers Anthony Carbines today announced the winners of the 2021 Volunteering Awards, which celebrate the extraordinary efforts of the state’s hard-working volunteers.

In addition to the Premier’s Award, Jaya also won the Volunteering Leadership Award for her efforts in establishing IndianCare. Since 2013, it has grown into one of the largest Indian and South Asian social welfare organisations in Australia, helping more than 5000 Victorians.

As the Premier’s Volunteer of the Year, Jaya receives the Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Award and a $10,000 donation to a not-for-profit organisation of her choice. Other award winners include:

COVID-19 Innovation Award Winner – Royal Women's Hospital COVID-19 Resilience Award Winner – C Care COVID-19 Support and Connection Award Winner – Very Special Kids Inclusive Volunteering Award Winner – Bassir Qadiri Volunteering Partnerships Award Winner – Parks Victoria, AMES and Sikh Partnership Volunteering Pathway to Skills and Community Inclusion Award Winner – Chris & Heather Cosgriff.

For the first time, Volunteering Victoria’s State Awards were combined with the Premier’s Volunteer Champions Awards to recognise and honour the achievements of both individuals and volunteering organisations and programs.

The Volunteering Awards were presented at Government House today.

For more information, visit Link .

Quotes attributable to Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers Anthony Carbines

“Congratulations to the winners and thank you to the many volunteers who form the backbone of our community – whether it’s delivering essential welfare services, providing social support or caring for our environment.”

“Victoria’s volunteers have continued selflessly helping others in our community through the pandemic.”

Quote attributable to Parliamentary Secretary for Carers and Volunteers Josh Bull

“Congratulations to all the award winners – and thank you for your important work supporting the community.”

Reviewed 25 March 2022

Was this page helpful?