Pulford Pops The Cork On New Wine Committee

15 October 2015

Minister for Agriculture Jaala Pulford last night announced the appointment of the Andrews Labor Government’s new Wine Industry Ministerial Advisory Committee to support the future growth of Victoria’s wine industry.

Speaking at the 2015 Royal Melbourne Wine Awards, Ms Pulford said the Advisory Committee would provide critical advice to the Labor Government on how best to grow Victoria’s wine industry and boost profitability.

Committee members were chosen based on their abilities to represent the views of key industry stakeholders, and their expertise and experience in relevant areas including wine making, grape growing, local government, research science, extension, wine trading, marketing, packaging, logistics and tourism.

Four members of the 13 strong committee were nominated by industry association representatives with the other nine chosen through a public Expression of Interest process.

The new Advisory Committee members are:

  • Mr Damian Sheehan from Victorian Viticulture Biosecurity Committee, representing the Grampians region
  • Mr Chris Dent from Murray Valley Wine Growers Inc, representing the Murray Darling and Swan Hill regions
  • Ms Angie Bradbury from Wine Victoria, representing all Victoria
  • Ms Natalie Pizzini from Victorian Food and Wine Tourism Council, representing the King Valley region
  • Mrs Kim Chalmers from Chalmers Wine representing the Murray Darling and Heathcote regions
  • Ms Nicole Esdaile from Coombe Yarra Valley, representing the Yarra Valley region
  • Mr Leigh Devine from Timmering Wines, representing Heathcote, Yarra Valley and Rutherglen regions
  • Mr John Harris from Mitchell Harris Wines, representing the Pyrenees region
  • Miss Katherine Brown from Brown Brothers Milawa Vineyard, representing the King Valley region
  • Mr Neil Burgess from Glenelg Shire Council, representing South West region of Victoria
  • Dr Mark Krstic from the Australian Wine Research Institute, representing all Victoria
  • Ms Nikki Palun from Octtava Wines, representing Sunraysia, King Valley, Mornington Peninsula and Yarra Valley regions
  • Mr Michael Dal Zotto from Dal Zotto Wines, representing the Whitfield and North East Victoria

The first priority for the Committee will be to provide guidance on the development of the Wine Industry Development Strategy and related $1 million election commitment.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Agriculture Jaala Pulford

“The new Advisory Committee brings our best and brightest wine experts together from across the state to help our wine industry grow and prosper.”

“Supporting the Victorian wine industry to grow will deliver great benefits to our local communities and the tourism industry through the creation of more jobs, improved cellar door visitation and increased exports.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?