New Deputy Chief Magistrate Appointed

07 April 2020

The Andrews Labor Government has today announced the appointment of Magistrate Susan Wakeling as a Deputy Chief Magistrate.

Magistrate Wakeling was appointed as a Magistrate on 30 June 2000. She has a long and distinguished career culminating in her current role as Regional Coordinating Magistrate at Melbourne, having previously been the Regional Coordinating Magistrate at Heidelberg.

She also served as the Supervising Magistrate of the Victims of Crime Assistance Tribunal, liaising with relevant victim support services and agencies.

Magistrate Wakeling oversaw the establishment of the Koori VOCAT List and served as the Lead Magistrate managing applications made by victims of crime who are of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Origin.

Throughout her career, she has led family violence reform, overseeing the operation of the Family Violence Division at Heidelberg for seven years and has advocating for the better support of family violence victims in court.

Magistrate Wakeling has been a member of a number of court committees including the Department of Justice Mental Health List Steering Committee and the Family Violence and Family Law Portfolio Group.

Prior to her appointment to the Court, Magistrate Wakeling practised as a solicitor specialising in criminal and family law.

Magistrate Wakeling is a current Board member of the Court Network.

Her appointment will commence on 9 April 2020, replacing retiring Deputy Chief Magistrate Jelena Popovic, who will continue to serve the Court as a reserve magistrate.

Quotes attributable to Attorney-General Jill Hennessy

“Magistrate Wakeling has already made a significant contribution to the justice system through her work leading family violence reform and victim support – she will bring experience and integrity to her new role as Deputy Chief Magistrate.”

“Deputy Chief Magistrate Popovic has been a devoted servant of the Court for more than three decades—I have immense gratitude for her tireless service and for the extraordinary innovation she has championed over the years.

Reviewed 26 June 2020

Was this page helpful?