New Chairperson For The Adult Parole Board

28 October 2022

The Andrews Labor Government has appointed former magistrate David Fanning as the new Chairperson of the Adult Parole Board.

Mr Fanning brings a wealth of experience to the board, having previously served as sessional divisional chairperson from 2013 to 2020 and sitting regularly in all its divisions.

Mr Fanning was appointed to the Magistrates’ Court in 2006 and led the multijurisdictional Neighbourhood Justice Centre from 2007 to 2021. This included hearing criminal and civil matters across the Magistrates’ and Children’s Courts, and the Victims of Crime Assistance Tribunal and Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal.

More recently, he sat at the Melbourne Magistrates’ Court before retiring from the bench in 2022.

Mr Fanning began his legal career as a solicitor and was a member of the Victorian Bar for 16 years, having signed the roll in 1989, where he worked in family, child welfare, criminal and administrative law. He was Tasmania’s Commissioner for Children from 2004 to 2006.

Prior to entering the law, he had an eight-year career as a social worker in family support, mental health, and child protection – working directly with children and vulnerable individuals. He also served as a faculty board member of Monash University Law School for almost 10 years.

Mr. Fanning replaces the previous Chairperson, His Honour Peter Couzens, who retired from the board in 2021.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Corrections Sonya Kilkenny

“David Fanning brings a wealth of knowledge, experience and skills to the role of chairperson, having provided many decades of legal service to the Victorian community.”

“His previous work as a sessional divisional chairperson of the Adult Parole Board has given him extensive exposure to the many complex and multifaceted elements that constitute Victoria’s parole system.”

“I would also like to acknowledge and thank the board’s deputy chairperson, Susan Pullen KC, who acted as chairperson following the retirement of His Honour Peter Couzens last year.”

Reviewed 28 October 2022

Was this page helpful?