New Appointments For Catchment Management Council

06 September 2018

The Andrews Labor Government has announced new appointments to the Victorian Catchment Management Council (VCMC).

The Council provides independent advice on the condition of land and water resources and what priorities for Catchment Management Authorities should have for Victoria.

It will also offer advice to the Government to help prepare Victoria for future environmental challenges like climate change and population growth, increasing land use, and natural disasters such as bushfires and floods.

The new council will comprise of a board of new and re-appointed members who include:

  • Dr Rohan Henry
  • Ms Kristen Jackson
  • Dr Kirsten Shelly
  • Mr Angus Hume (Chair)
  • Ms Joan Liley
  • Ms Alana Johnson
  • Ms Helen Vaughan

The members will start their appointments from 13 October for a three-year term.

Minister for Water Lisa Neville thanked all departing members for their service to the catchment management sector and the community.

The Labor Government has invested $584 million to deliver water initiatives as a part of the state’s water plan, Water for Victoria, including a record $222 million investment for waterway health.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Water Lisa Neville

“This board has a fantastic cross section of experience and knowledge to help us implement our vital reforms as a part of the state’s water plan.”

“We’re making sure Victoria’s water sector is equipped with the right people and expertise it needs to do its job and protect Victoria’s water security.”

“Healthy waterways are vital to sustain regional economies, provide recreational opportunities and support jobs and growth across the state.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?