More Mobile Coverage For Regional Victoria

18 July 2018

The Andrews Labor Government has announced the locations of its latest round of mobile phone towers as part of the Victorian Mobile Black Spot Project (VMBSP).

The Labor Government is partnering with Optus and Telstra to build 28 new mobile towers across Victoria, with the towers set to cover around 2,000 square kilometres and connect more than 4,000 premises.

Minister for Regional Development Jaala Pulford today joined Member for Northern Victoria Mark Gepp in Katandra West – one of the 28 communities that will be safer and better connected through Round 3 of the VMBSP.

The Labor Government has invested $11 million to build the towers, which brings the total amount of state co-funded towers to 229 – representing approximately $190 million of infrastructure investment in regional Victoria.

A further $11 million was announced to fix more mobile blackspots in the Victorian Budget 2018/19 and the government will continue to work with the Regional Partnerships, local governments, mobile carriers, Emergency Management Victoria and the Commonwealth Government to get the best outcome for Victorian communities.

The Government is also developing digital plans for the nine Regional Partnerships using the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on each region’s digital infrastructure and services. This is due to be finalised later this year.

For more information, visit

Quotes attributable to Minister for Regional Development Jaala Pulford

“Mobile coverage provides a lifeline for regional communities during an emergency, meaning that people can call for help and stay in touch with loved ones.”

We’re proud to partner with Optus and Telstra to give more Victorians the mobile coverage they deserve.”

Quote attributable to Minister for Innovation and the Digital Economy Philip Dalidakis

“We’re delivering new mobile towers to the communities that need them most – providing coverage and better connecting more communities.”

Quote attributable to Member for Northern Victoria Mark Gepp

“We’re delivering for all Victorians and ensuring regional communities get the mobile coverage they deserve.”

Quote attributable to Optus Manager Mobile Access Planning Vin Mullins

“Optus is pleased to be working with the Victorian Government to deliver much needed mobile coverage in regional towns across Victoria. We understand the dependence on good mobile coverage to these local economies and will continue to invest in regional Victoria to enhance the strength and reliability of our network.”

Quote attributable to Telstra Chief Sustainability Officer & Director Government & Regional Affairs Tim O’Leary

“As the carrier that has invested in building Australia’s largest mobile network, we know how important coverage is to regional and remote communities. We’re proud to be building 17 new base stations in partnership with the Victorian Government.”

Full list of Round 3 VMBSP locations:

Allambee (Telstra)

Annuello (Telstra)

Areegra (Telstra)

Benloch East (Telstra)

Buckland Valley (Telstra)

Carboor (Telstra)

Cathedral Lane (Optus)

Cheshunt South (Telstra)

Cobungra (Telstra)

Cowwarr (Optus)

Dales Creek (Optus)

Dergholm (Telstra)

Erskine Falls (Optus)

Gelantipy Exchange (Telstra)

Kancoona (Optus)

Katandra West (Optus)

Lake Mundi Exchange (Telstra)

Lurg (Telstra)

Moe-Rawson Road (Optus)

Mosquito Creek (Telstra)

Narracan (Optus)

Neuarpurr (Telstra)

Neilborough (Optus)

Smeaton (Optus)

Strath Creek South (Telstra)

Tabbut (Telstra)

Warby Ranges (Optus)

Woolshed Valley (Telstra)

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?