Premier of Victoria website logo – The Hon Daniel Andrews – home

Marquee Makeover For Country Racing Clubs

30 November 2016

Racegoers attending marquee events at Victorian country racing venues will enjoy upgraded facilities, thanks to a $140,000 package partly funded by the Andrews Labor Government.

Minister for Racing Martin Pakula visited the Seymour Racing Club yesterday to announce funding for 14 racing clubs to purchase new tables, chairs, umbrellas and other marquee furniture.

The Labor Government is contributing almost $70,000 towards the refurbishments through the Victorian Racing Industry Fund. Country Racing Victoria is providing almost $49,000 and the clubs are also collectively providing more than $20,000.

Seymour Racing Club received $5000 from the funding package for 15 new round tables, 15 trestle tables, 200 chairs and 10 umbrellas.

The tables and chairs were used at the Seymour racecourse earlier this month for the Vietnam Veterans ‘Together then, Together Again’ race meeting.

The racing industry in regional Victoria generates more than $937 million for the Victorian economy and helps sustain more than 9250 full-time equivalent jobs locally.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Racing Martin Pakula

“We’re investing in our regional racing clubs because they help to employ thousands of Victorians and they are a significant contributor to the regional economy.”

Quotes attributable to Member for Northern Victoria Jaclyn Symes

“This is a fantastic initiative which will benefit the local communities who use the clubs for social events, and it will help to attract valuable tourism to the region.”

Quotes attributable to Seymour Racing Club Chief Executive Penny Reeve

“The Seymour Racecourse is an important social hub for the region and the new marquee furniture is a welcome addition to the facilities we offer.”

Clubs to benefit from the $140,000 marquee furniture upgrade include:

Ararat Turf Club

Avoca Shire Turf Club

Bendigo Jockey Club

Donald & District Racing Club

Edenhope Race Club

Great Western Racing Club

Horsham & District Racing Club

Mortlake Racing Club

Pakenham Racing Club

Sale Turf Club

Seymour Racing Club

St Arnaud Racing Club

Terang & District Racing Club

Warracknabeal Racing Club.

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?