Inspirational Leaders Inducted To Aboriginal Honour Roll

22 March 2024

The Allan Labor Government is celebrating outstanding Aboriginal leaders - inducting eleven individuals into the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll who have shown inspirational dedication, service, and fierce determination.

Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins will tonight induct the eleven leaders in a ceremony at Melbourne’s Arts Centre attended by prominent members of the Aboriginal community.

The diverse group of inductees come from around Victoria, and include advocates for cultural heritage and land rights, advocates and workers in the justice, health and welfare systems, educators, Victoria’s first Aboriginal VFL umpire and a prominent public servant.

The eleven inductees are:

  • Aunty Hazel Atkinson

  • Aunty Linda Bamblett

  • Uncle John Russel Brown

  • Aunty Barbara Francis Day (posthumous)

  • Uncle Patrick Farrant Snr

  • Aunty Margaret Gloria Gardiner (posthumous)

  • Uncle Andrew Morgan Jackomos PSM

  • Uncle Glenn Robert James OAM

  • Uncle Allan Murray Snr

  • Dr Lois Peeler AM

  • Terrie Ann Stewart.

Since its establishment in 2011, the Honour Roll has recognised 150 Aboriginal people for their work in a wide range of fields including health, education, justice, sport, the arts, community leadership and the military.

The Honour Roll pays tribute to Aboriginal trailblazers who have shaped Victoria and created a fairer and better place for all Victorians. It also provides a platform to celebrate Aboriginal cultures, languages, leadership and excellence.

As Victoria progresses with Truth and Treaty, Aboriginal leadership and knowledge will continue to inspire and guide the future of our state.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins:

“Aboriginal people make immense contributions to Victoria every day, in fields as diverse as health, justice, education and sport – the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll recognises and celebrates their work and service.”

“Congratulations to this year’s eleven inductees and thank you for your invaluable work making Victoria a better, fairer and stronger place.”

Reviewed 22 March 2024

Was this page helpful?