Finalists Announced For 2016 Victorian Training Awards

12 July 2016

Minister for Training and Skills Steve Herbert has today announced the finalists in this year’s Victorian Training Awards.

The awards recognise the achievements of students, trainees and apprentices and the teachers, schools and businesses who provide their training.

The 2016 Victorian Training Awards will feature a new award, the Lynne Kosky Memorial Award, which recognises lifetime achievement in the promotion of educational excellence in VET in Victoria. The Community Choice Award voted by the general public will also return this year.

There are 15 categories this year, ranging from school-based apprentices to Vocational Education and Training teacher/trainer of the year, as well as recognition of the industry providers and the employers who support the skills development and training of their staff.

Regional areas feature prominently among the list of finalists, with representatives in ten of the 15 categories, and from areas like Swan Hill, Ballarat, Bendigo and Mildura.

Employer awards recognise the key involvement of businesses small and large in the continued development of training in Victoria. Finalists include Metro Trains, Western Health and Bubup Wilam for Early Learning Aboriginal Child and Family Centre.

The diversity of school-based training is celebrated in the VET in Schools Excellence Award and the School-based Apprentice of the Year.

The awards will be presented on Friday 26 August. All individual category winners will become finalists in the Australian Training Awards.

The Andrews Labor Government is building the Education State where Victorians are able to get quality training to build the skills they need for the job they want.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Training and Skills Steve Herbert

“Training is the key to a skilled and adaptable workforce. I congratulate the students, employers and educators who are finalists in the 2016 Victorian Training Awards.”

“Regional areas feature strongly in the 2016 Victorian Training Awards and they show the capacity of regional education and business to produce a highly skilled workforce.”

“As we build the Education State, it is wonderful to see such great examples of people getting the training they need to get the jobs they want.”


Victorian School-based Apprentice of the Year

James Schifferle (Cert III in Information, Digital Media & Technology – Swan Hill College)

James Cox (Cert III in Agriculture – Tintern Grammar)

Campbell Spittle (Cert III in Agriculture – St Patrick’s College, Ballarat)

Ethan Guest (Cert III in Civil Construction – Heathmont College)

Victorian Trainee of the Year

David Cooper (Cert III in Tourism – Crown College)

Kristen Houghton (Cert III in Business – Integrity Business College)

Kayla Reidy (Cert III in Business Administration – Western Business School)

Natalie Bongailas (Cert III in Retail Operations – McDonald’s Australia)

Victorian Apprentice of the Year

Steven Jeffery (Cert III in Carpentry – Swinburne University of Technology)

Paul Saynor (Cert III in Carpentry – Holmesglen Institute)

Danielle Kazi-Shedden – (Cert III in Shopfitting – Chisholm Institute)

Elliott Grayling (Cert III in Electrotechnology (Electrician) – Sunraysia Institute of TAFE) –

Victorian Koorie Student of the Year – proudly supported by Crown Melbourne Ltd

Indi Clarke (Cert IV in Business – Sunraysia Institute of TAFE)

Nazeree Dickerson (Cert IV in Community Services Work – Victorian Aboriginal Community Services Association Limted)

Jacob Cooke-Harrison (Cert III in Painting and Decorating – Murray Mallee Training Company)

Tracy Mollison (Cert IV in Horticulture – Sunraysia Institute of TAFE)

Victorian Vocational Student of the Year – proudly supported by Metro Trains Melbourne

Glenn Halupka (Advanced Diploma of Engineering – Mechanical - RMIT)

Amanda Gharib (Cert II in Business – Kangan Institute)

Jennifer Peart (Cert IV in Veterinary Nursing – The Gordon Institute of TAFE)

Brendan Key (Diploma of Enrolled Nursing – Bendigo TAFE)

Victorian VET Teacher/Trainer of the Year – proudly supported by Victorian TAFE Association

Denielle Beardmore (Director Clinical Education and Practice Development Teacher - Ballarat Health

Marc Nichol ( Events and Tourism Teacher - Holmesglen)

Luke Perry (Automotive Training Advisor - Bendigo Kangan TAFE)

Victorian VET in Schools Excellence Award

Bendigo Senior Secondary College

Moorabbin Flying Services

Sandringham College

Victorian VET Client Service/Support Excellence Award

Geraldine Lewis – Federation University Australia

The Bubble Student Advisory Team – Federation Training

BlendED Project Team Education Development – The Gordon Institute of TAFE

Victorian Industry Collaboration Award

Metricon Homes (RMIT, Master Builders Association & Metricon)

West Gippsland Trade Training Centre Alliance (Apprenticeships Group Australia & West Gippsland Trade Training Alliance)

Victoria Polytechnic – Western Health Collaboration (Victoria University & Western Health)

Victorian Small Training Provider of the Year

Health Careers International

Master Builders Association of Victoria

Encompass Community Services

Victorian Large Training Provider of the Year

Box Hill Institute Group

Bendigo Kangan Institute

Federation University Australia

Victorian Medium Employer of the Year

Bubup Wilam for Early Learning Aboriginal Child and Family Centre

ADM Systems Pty Ltd

Victorian Large Employer of the Year – proudly supported by Business Skills Viability

Metro Trains

Western Health

Zinfra Group

Victorian Employer Award for Apprentice Development – proudly supported by Apprenticeship Employment Network

Metro Trains Melbourne


Bayford and AGA (joint nomination)

Victorian Community Training Provider of the Year – proudly supported by ACFE (Adult Community and Further Education)

Kensington Neighbourhood House

Preston Reservoir Adult Community Education

Paynesville Neighbourhood House

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?