Finalists Announced For 2016 Learn Local Awards

11 August 2016

Victorians who have made a significant impact on community education will be celebrated at this year’s Victorian Learn Local Awards.

Minister for Training and Skills Steve Herbert today announced the finalists for the awards, which recognise the contribution to training made by Victoria’s more than 300 Learn Local organisations offering pre-accredited and accredited training.

Anita Hohenhaus who studied at Paynesville Neighbourhood House, Matthew Agostinelli, a student at Diamond Valley Learning Centre, and Dandenong Neighbourhood House’s Naryphol Thach are in the running for the Ro Allen Award, which recognises excellence in pre-accredited learning.

Other finalists include Learn Local teachers Josie Rose of CAE/Gippsland East Learn Local Alliance, Sharon Smart from Vermont South Community House and Marj Sjostrom from Keysborough Learning Centre.

In total, there is $50,000 to be won across the five prize categories with the winners to be announced at this year’s Learn Local Awards to be held on Thursday 8 September.

The Andrews Labor Government funds Learn Locals through the Adult, Community and Further Education (ACFE) Board.

This Government is allowing more Victorians to study in the community and in 2016 has boosted funding to pre-accredited training by $2 million.

Learn Locals have also been major beneficiaries of the Government’s $20 million Reconnect Program which provides wrap around support to help Victoria’s most disadvantaged learners into training.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Training and Skills Steve Herbert

“Learn Locals make a huge difference in their communities. They help people who need extra support turn their lives around with programs for people of all ages and from all walks of life.”

“All Victorians – no matter their age, background or postcode – should be able to access training to get the skills they need for the jobs they want. Learn Locals are often the first step on someone’s pathway to employment.”

Quotes attributable to ACFE Board Chair Sue Christophers

“The Awards are an opportunity for the ACFE Board to recognise the inspirational efforts of learners, practitioners and training providers in the Learn Local education and training sector.”

“The ACFE Board is proud to support Learn Local organisations to deliver such valuable training and skills for thousands of Victorians each year.”


Ro Allen Award – Recognising Pre-accredited Learner Excellence

Anita Hohenhaus – Paynesville Neighbourhood Centre

Matthew Agostinelli – Diamond Valley Learning Centre

Naryphol Thach - Dandenong Neighbourhood House

Outstanding Practitioner

Josie Rose - CAE / GELLA (Gippsland East Learn Local Alliance)

Dr Sharon Smart - Vermont South Community House

Marj Sjostrom - Keysborough Learning Centre

Excellence in Creating Local Solutions

BA@Wyndham - Wyndham Community and Education Centre

Pathway to Racing - Kyneton Community & Learning Centre

Ajani Community Hub Partnership Project - Living and Learning @ Ajani

Outstanding Pathways Program

Making Alternatives Possible (MAP) - Inner Melbourne VET Cluster

Pathways to Work in Action - Carringbush Adult Education

Speaking Out - Port Melbourne Neighbourhood Centre

AMES Australia Diversity Innovation

Safe Driving Program - Diversitat

Community Learning Champion Program – North Melbourne Language and Learning

CALD Education & Employment Pathways - Ballarat Neighbourhood Centre

Learn Local Legends

ACFE North Western Metropolitan Regional Council - Djerriwarrh Community & Education Services

ACFE Loddon Mallee Regional Council - Macedon Ranges Further Education

ACFE Southern Metropolitan Regional Council - Glen Eira Adult Learning Centre

ACFE Gippsland Regional Council - Gippsland Employment Skills Training

ACFE Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council - Vermont South Community House

ACFE Hume Regional Council - Myrtleford Neighbourhood Centre

ACFE Grampians Regional Council - Nhill Learning Centre

ACFE Barwon South Western Regional Council - Bellarine Living & Learning Centre

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?