Disaster Assistance For Victoria Following February Storms

25 March 2015

Commonwealth Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and Victorian Minister for Emergency Services, Jane Garrett today announced that disaster assistance has been activated in response to the storms which occurred on 28 February 2015.

Mr Keenan said that the assistance was being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-state and territory Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

Affected local councils should contact the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance on (03) 9651 2327 or by email to to discuss the availability of assistance.

Information regarding the assistance available can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at Link and on the Victorian Government’s Emergency Relief and Recovery Victoria website at Link .

Quotes attributable to the Commonwealth Minister for Justice, Michael Keenan

“Assistance under the NDRRA has been made available to those councils impacted by the storms in the local government areas of Central Goldfields, Frankston, Hepburn, Moorabool, Mount Alexander, Pyrenees, Whitehorse and Yarra Ranges.”

"The Australian and Victorian governments are committed to working together to assist affected communities and their local councils recover from natural disasters."

Quotes attributable to the Victorian Minister for Emergency Services, Jane Garrett

“These storm affected councils will receive much needed support to help with recovery costs, cleaning up operations and restoring damaged infrastructure.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?