Disaster Assistance For Councils In Victoria Following Severe Weather And Flooding

19 December 2017

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and Victorian Minister for Emergency Services James Merlino today announced that additional disaster assistance has been activated in response to parts of Victoria affected by severe weather and flooding earlier this month.

Minister Keenan said assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

“Both the Commonwealth and Victorian governments are committed to supporting flood affected communities,” Mr Keenan said.

“We are providing additional assistance to help local communities recover from the heavy rainfall and flooding that occurred over the first weekend of December 2017.”

The activation of NDRRA allows councils and state government agencies to apply for funding to help cover counter disaster operations such as sandbagging and construction of temporary levees, and the restoration of essential public assets such as roads and stormwater infrastructure.

Assistance has already been announced for individuals and families affected by the severe weather and flooding in Strathbogie and Alpine local government areas.

Minister Merlino said NDRRA assistance will be extended to other areas as required.

“Assistance is available to support local councils to help with the cost of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets,” Mr Merlino said.

The 12 local government areas receiving NDRRA assistance are: Alpine, Knox, Mansfield, Mitchell, Moonee Valley, Murrindindi, Nillumbik, Shepparton, Strathbogie, Towong, Wangaratta and Yarra Ranges.

Information regarding disaster assistance available can be found on the Vic Emergency website at Link or the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at Link .

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?