Concessional Loans for Primary Producers Affected By Victorian Fires

28 January 2015

Commonwealth Minister for Justice, Michael Keenan, and Victorian Minister for Emergency Services, Jane Garrett, today announced concessional loans for primary producers directly affected by recent fires in Victoria’s west and north-east.

Mr Keenan said the Category B Concessional Interest Rate Loans of up to $200,000 were being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

NDRRA assistance is being made available to the bushfire affected councils of Ararat, Benalla, Moira, Strathbogie and Wangaratta. These areas were affected by the Creighton’s Creek, Lake Rowan, Stewarton and Moyston fires during December 2014 and January 2015.

Mr Keenan said the concessional loans are being offered in addition to the emergency relief, re-establishment and disaster assistance previously announced by the Commonwealth and Victorian governments.

To apply for a concessional interest rate loan, primary producers can contact Rural Finance Victoria on 1800 260 425 or online at Link .

For further information on available recovery assistance, visit the Victorian Government’s Emergency Relief and Recovery Victoria website at External Link or the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at Link .

Quotes attributable to the Commonwealth Minister for Justice, Michael Keenan

“The Commonwealth and Victorian governments have worked together closely to ensure financial assistance is available to people affected by the bushfires. These concessional interest rate loans will provide further support to help fire affected primary producers get back on their feet as soon as possible.”

“The Commonwealth and Victorian governments are committed to ensuring communities affected by natural disasters have the assistance they need to recover.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?