Bold New Designs Revealed For Metro Tunnel Stations

29 May 2018

Melbourne will boast five new stunning landmarks when the underground stations for the Metro Tunnel open in 2025.

Minister for Public Transport Jacinta Allan today unveiled the final designs for the stations which will combine functionality, space and natural light with the latest in public transport infrastructure design.

The bold final station designs make station layouts as easy as possible for passengers to navigate, whilst ensuring the structures and their surrounds set a new benchmark in architecture, sustainability and urban design.

The five new stations, which will be known as North Melbourne, Parkville, State Library, Town Hall and Anzac, will draw on the local character of each location in their design and layout.

North Melbourne Station has an impressive large-scale brick arched entrance to reflect the area’s industrial heritage and skylights to enable natural light to filter down on the platforms and concourse.

In Parkville, a glass feature roof at the Grattan Street entrance provides passengers visiting this world class health and education precinct with a tree-lined view as well as natural light into the station concourse.

Grand entrances at State Library and Town Hall Stations in the heart of the CBD will create new meeting places, with redesigned laneways including cafes and retail shops. Below Swanston Street, passengers will enjoy wide and spacious platforms framed by sweeping arches.

A key element at Anzac Station in Domain will be an architecturally designed canopy reaching up from below ground, providing both natural light and weather protection for the thousands of passengers each day who will move between trains and trams.

The new station designs will also deliver a number of new parks and open space, bicycle facilities and community plazas. A pedestrian underpass beneath St Kilda Road will significantly enhance safety.

Designs for the Metro Tunnel stations and their surrounds are a world class collaboration between leading architects Hassell, Weston Williamson and Rogers Stirk Harbour and Partners.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Public Transport Jacinta Allan

“The final designs for the Metro Tunnel’s five new underground train stations will deliver the best passenger experience in stunningly designed and spacious settings.”

“The Metro Tunnel will deliver five new architectural landmarks for Melbourne and the turn-up-and-go train system our city needs.”

Quotes attributable to City of Melbourne Lord Mayor Sally Capp

“These stations will be bold and exciting additions to the Melbourne landscape, enhancing the experience of the city’s commuters.”

“We will work with the Victorian Government to ensure the city continues to reap the benefits from this world-leading project, including enhanced public spaces for Melburnians to enjoy for decades to come.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?