Board Members Appointed For Asbestos Agency

The Andrews Labor Government has appointed a three-person board for the newly-established Victorian Asbestos Eradication Agency (VAEA).

Minister for Finance Robin Scott today announced the board will be chaired by former Commissioner of Fair Work Australia Dianne Foggo AM and directors Simone Stevenson and Ross McCann.

The new appointments bring extensive skills, qualifications and experience to the agency, which will create a register of asbestos in Government buildings.

Ms Foggo was a Commissioner at Fair Work Australia for 18 years, a Deputy Chancellor of Victoria University and is currently a Director of Bendigo Health.

Mr McCann is a board member of WorkSafe Victoria, Deputy Chairman of Sustainability Victoria and a former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of manufacturing company Qenos. He was previously the President of the Plastics and Chemicals Industry Association.

Ms Stevenson was previously Chief of Staff to the Victorian Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, as well as a Policy Adviser to the Federal Government on asbestos management. That included the establishment of the National Asbestos Safety and Eradication Agency and the National Strategic Plan for Asbestos Management and Awareness.

The VAEA has been set up to prioritise the removal of asbestos from Government buildings, including schools and hospitals, across Victoria.

The VAEA will start operating early next year.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Finance Robin Scott

“We’re prioritising the removal of asbestos from government buildings to improve health and safety of Victorians.”

“The VAEA will be overseen by experts with extensive experience in asbestos safety and risk minimisation.”

“These  appointments will allow the agency to begin its vital work as soon as possible.”