Awards Recognise Victoria’s Early Childhood Educators

26 April 2022

The Andrews Labor Government is celebrating the outstanding work of early childhood teachers and educators who have improved the lives of young Victorian children and their families with the Victorian Early Years Awards.

Minister for Early Childhood Ingrid Stitt today opened this year’s Awards – calling on families, early childhood professionals and organisations to submit their nominations.

Now in its 17th year, the Victorian Early Years Awards celebrate not only the nominees, finalists and winners but mark the commitment, resilience and professionalism demonstrated by the entire sector.

Early childhood educators played a critical role in the community during the pandemic, and these awards will celebrate the devotion of these professionals across seven award categories – including improving access and participation, supporting parents and promoting children’s health and wellbeing, and the prestigious Early Childhood Teacher of the Year.

Award winners in each category will receive $15,000 to further develop and share the lessons of their exceptional work in kindergartens, schools, local councils, maternal child and health services and other early years organisations across the state.

Nominations for the awards close on Monday 13 June, with finalists announced in August ahead of the awards ceremony on 9 November.

For more information or to submit a nomination, visit

Making Victoria the Education State starts with the early years. That’s why, in an Australian-first, the Labor Government is also investing almost $5 billion this decade to provide three-year-old children with access to 15 hours of a funded kindergarten program.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Early Childhood Ingrid Stitt

“The Andrews Labor Government continues to invest strongly in early childhood education because we know just how important it is in fostering the next generation of Victorians.”

“Victoria is home to many dedicated early childhood teachers and educators, and exceptional early years services – and we can’t wait to celebrate their transformative work with these awards.”

Reviewed 26 April 2022

Was this page helpful?