Ararat Commission Of Inquiry Commences

29 June 2017

The Commission of Inquiry into the Rural City of Ararat has begun with the appointment of three Commissioners.

Acting Minister for Local Government Lily D’Ambrosio has today announced the three Commissioners that will consider the Ararat Rural City Council’s rating strategy and administrative capacity – Frances O’Brien QC, John Tanner AM and Mark Davies.

Frances O’Brien QC will chair the Commission. She has significant legal experience and understanding of the local government sector, and recently served as a Commissioner with the Commission of Inquiry into the Greater Geelong City Council.

John Tanner AM has substantial experience in the local government sector and has previously held appointments as an administrator of Brimbank City Council and as a Local Government Commissioner at the former Shire of Delatite.

Mark Davies has extensive administrative expertise in the local government sector, having previously been the Chief Executive Officer of Surf Coast Shire Council. He has an accounting background and extensive knowledge of local government rating systems.

The Commissioners will report on the consultative process carried out in the development of the budget and rating strategy, and on the administrative capacity of the City, by August 1.

The Commission will consult with ratepayers in relation to the budget and rating strategy as part of this process.

Quotes attributable to the Acting Minister for Local Government Lily D’Ambrosio:

“The Commission of Inquiry is about ensuring there is a fair rating strategy for the Ararat community.”

“I’m pleased to see the Council have decided to defer their budget decision while the Commission of Inquiry get to work.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?