Alcott And Stephan Win State’s Top Sport Gongs

27 February 2020

Grand Slam tennis legend Dylan Alcott and world champion rower Lucy Stephan have taken out top honours at the 2019 Victorian Sport Awards held at Marvel Stadium last night.

Parliamentary Secretary for Sport Danielle Green congratulated Alcott and Stephan, male and female athlete of the year respectively, who were among 19 winners on a night that recognises athletes, coaches, clubs, officials and volunteers from grassroots levels through to elite ranks.

In a fitting tribute, five-times British Open golf champion, the late Peter Thomson, was awarded the Victorian Government Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport award.

Alcott’s performances in 2019 include winning three Grand Slam quad wheelchair singles titles (Australian Open, French Open and Wimbledon). He finished the year as the number one ranked player in the quad wheelchair singles division and also claimed all four Grand Slam quad wheelchair doubles titles.

Stephan also delivered stellar performances including landing gold for Australia as a member of the women’s four crew at the World Rowing Championships. The Olympian also claimed a World Cup gold medal as a member of the women’s fours.

The awards, presented by the Victorian Government and Vicsport, included Team of the Year which went to Victorian Fury, which finished the Australian Netball League regular season with a 13-1 record before claiming an eighth league crown.

Coach of the Year was Jeff Hopkins from soccer’s Melbourne Victory, whose team took out the W-League premiers plate.

By acknowledging and celebrating outstanding role models on and off the field, the Victorian Sport Awards aim to inspire the next generation to follow in their footsteps.

For more information about this year’s winners and finalists, visit Link .

Quotes attributable to Parliamentary Secretary for Sport Danielle Green

“We’re seeing growing numbers of girls and boys and women and men signing up to play sport at local clubs, and home-grown heroes play a big part in making that happen.”

“Congratulations to all the achievers recognised in the Victorian Sport Awards. The hard work and dedication of athletes, coaches, officials, administrators and volunteers at all levels of sport is truly outstanding.”

2019 Victorian Sport Awards winners

  • Victorian Government Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport

The late Peter Thomson – golf

  • Victorian Coach of the Year

Jeff Hopkins – Melbourne Victory (W-League)

  • Victorian Community Coach of the Year

Hannah Every-Hall – PowerHouse Rowing Club

  • Victorian Official of the Year

Susan Taylor – Mountain District Badminton Association/Badminton Victoria

  • Victorian Community Official of the Year

Sally Whitehouse – Wodonga City Swimming Club

  • Administrator of the Year

Grant Cosgriff – Triathlon Victoria

  • Volunteer of the Year

Athena Babo – Pascoe Vale FC

  • Love the Game Community Sporting Club of the Year Award

Kyvalley Tennis Club

  • Masters Athlete of the Year

Mark Thompson – Powerpoints Masters Swimming

  • Team of the Year

Victorian Fury (netball)

  • Victorian Young Team of the Year

Victorian Equestrian Interschools Team

  • Young Athlete of the Year

Gabriella Peiniger (swimmer) – MLC Aquatic

  • Male Athlete of the Year

Dylan Alcott – tennis

  • Female Athlete of the Year

Lucy Stephan – rowing

  • Victorian Local Government Initiative of the Year

Casey Stadium

  • Active Recreation Initiative of the Year

Melbourne Tennis Month – Tennis Victoria

  • Community Sporting Event of the Year

Victorian Sikh Games

  • Outstanding Media Coverage of Sport Award

Lachlan Rayner – athletics

  • Peter Norman Inclusion Award

Naomi Symington & Janet Jones – Surf Life Saving

Reviewed 30 July 2020

Was this page helpful?