Accolades For Victorian Manufacturing Leaders

09 June 2016

The Andrews Labor Government has recognised outstanding individuals and businesses raising the bar in Victorian manufacturing at the 2016 Manufacturing Hall of Fame Gala Dinner.

A number of companies were also recognised for their excellence in sectors driving Victoria's economic growth and jobs.

Broadmeadows-based CSL Behring was named Large Manufacturer of the Year, Coburg North-based Thycon Industrial the Medium Manufacturer of the Year, while Campbellfield-based H&H Machine Tools Australia took out the Small Manufacturer of the Year award.

Stuart Payne, from Mount Waverley based food processing company GP Graders, was announced as this year’s Honouree. Under Mr Payne’s direction, GP Graders has become a global market leader in research and development, design, quality assurance, marketing and sales.

The Young Manufacturer of the Year prize was awarded to Dr Ashley Denmead from Carbon Revolution – is one of the inventors of the technology that led to the world’s first commercialised carbon fibre wheel.

Paz Group (construction), Morgan Advanced Ceramics (advanced material), RF Industries (technology), Close the Loop (recycling), EBM Papst (refrigeration, heating and IT), Cablex (aerospace, defence, transportation, electronic and telecommunications) were all inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The winners in the Growth Sector Awards category were:

  • Medical technology and pharmaceuticals – MSD Animal Health, Bendigo East
  • New energy technology – Mil Systems, West Footscray
  • Food and fibre processing – Andrew Peace Wines, Piangil
  • Transport, defence and construction technology – MHG Asia Pacific, North Geelong
  • International education – Swinburne University, Hawthorn
  • Professional services – Cobalt Design Pty Ltd, North Melbourne

The Labor Government is supporting companies in these growth sectors to create jobs and stimulate industry investment through our Future Industries Fund.

For more information about this year’s awards, visit Link .

Quotes attributable to Minister for Industry and Employment Wade Noonan

“Manufacturing has a bright future in Victoria and these awards celebrate those businesses and individuals who are shaping the future of this important sector.”

“We are investing in high growth sectors to create jobs and grow the economy and these awards recognise forward thinking businesses that are driving this economic growth.”

“This year’s winners are all outstanding local businesses and individuals that are at the forefront of Victotrian manufacturing and should be commended for their accomplishments.”

Reviewed 19 August 2020

Was this page helpful?