Media Release

The Hon Natalie Hutchins MP

Minister for Government Services Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Minister for Prevention of Family Violence Minister for Women



Friday, 13 June 2025

NINE LEADERS INDUCTED INTO ABORIGINAL HONOUR ROLL

The Allan Labor Government is celebrating nine outstanding First Nations leaders inducted into the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll, inspiring Victorians with their dedication, service and fierce determination.

In a special ceremony held at Melbourne's Arts Centre, community members gathered alongside Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins to celebrate the newest inductees and their lasting impact on communities across the state.

This year's inductees represent a rich cross-section of Victorian First Peoples including cultural mentors, a broadcaster, a health advocate, community workers, a basketball coach, and a champion for reconciliation and Treaty.

The nine inductees are:

- Uncle Ricky Graham Baldwin
- Aunty Lou Baulch
- Aunty Iris Bysouth
- Uncle Shane Charles

- Uncle Dennis Fisher
- Aunty Faye Lynam (posthumous)
- Bevan and Letty Nicholls (posthumous)
- Uncle Harry Stewart

Since 2011, the Honour Roll has recognised 158 First Nations people for their achievements across diverse fields including health, education, justice, sport, the arts, community leadership and military service.

The Honour Roll acknowledges the influence of First Nations leaders who have helped create a fairer and better place for all Victorians and provides a platform to celebrate their cultures, languages and excellence.

As Victoria progresses with Truth and Treaty, First Nations leadership and knowledge will continue to inspire and guide the future of our state.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins

"The Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll highlights the extraordinary contributions of First Nations people who work every day to make Victoria more inclusive, fair and united."

"I warmly congratulate this year's nine inductees – their passion and drive uplifts our communities and inspires us all."

"These exceptional individuals have dedicated their lives to strengthening communities and celebrating culture – their place on the Honour Roll is a reflection of the deep respect we have for their service and leadership."

Media contact: Michaela Weston 0403 483 023 | michaela.weston@minstaff.vic.gov.au