

Minister for Consumer Affairs Minister for Local Government



Thursday, 24 April 2025

NEW MAYORAL ADVISORY PANEL APPOINTED

The Allan Labor Government has announced the Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel for 2025, with nine mayors from across Victoria making up the panel.

Chaired by the Minister for Local Government, Nick Staikos, the panel provides high-level advice on legislative, regulatory, strategic and policy issues that affect Victorian councils. This year's panel is expected to focus on governance and other key issues of concern to local government.

The mayors have been selected from urban, regional and rural communities across the state, ensuring that a diversity of perspectives is brought to the forum.

The Minister met with the panel today to kick off the first of three official meetings to be held this year.

The members of the 2025 panel are:

- Cr Louise Crawford, Port Phillip City Council
- Cr Simone Zmood, Glen Eira City Council
- Cr Paul Klisaris, Monash City Council
- Cr Jack Kowarzik, Cardinia Shire Council
- Cr Steve Abboushi, Melton City Council
- Cr Jarrod Bell, Hume City Council
- Cr Ben Blain, Warrnambool City Council
- Cr Rosie Annear, Mt Alexander Shire Council
- Cr Karen Hyslop, Northern Grampians Shire Council.

For more information, please visit localgovernment.vic.gov.au

Quotes attributable to Minister for Local Government Nick Staikos

"This panel brings together diverse local leadership from every corner of Victoria. Together, we'll be focusing on keeping our local government responsive, resilient and deeply connected to the people it serves."

"This panel plays a key role in advising the Victorian Government, and I'm pleased to work alongside these mayors to strengthen outcomes for communities statewide."