

The Hon Enver Erdogan мр Minister for Corrections Minister for Youth Justice Minister for Victim Support



Tuesday, 9 April 2024

## **NEW CHAIR FOR VICTORIA'S POST SENTENCE AUTHORITY**

The Allan Labor Government has today announced the appointment of Felicity Hampel AM SC as the new Chair of Victoria's Post Sentence Authority.

She brings a wealth of experience to the position of overseeing the state's post-sentence scheme, which monitors serious offenders on post-sentence supervision and detention orders.

Her Honour served as a judge of the County Court of Victoria and Vice President of the Victorian Civil Administrative Tribunal (VCAT) before retiring in June 2023.

She previously practised as a barrister for 24 years and was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1996, converting to Senior Counsel in 2001.

Her Honour has practised across Australia in human rights, administrative and criminal law before being appointed to the County Court in 2005 and accepting a concurrent appointment as Vice President of VCAT in 2010.

She is Deputy Chair of the Board of the Australian Advocacy Institute and a fellow of the Australian Academy of Law.

She is also on the Centenary of Federation 'Women Shaping the Nation' Honour Roll and was awarded the Victorian Women Lawyers achievement award in 2005.

Her Honour begins in the role today, after the previous Chair Michele Williams KC's term finished in January 2024.

The Post Sentence Authority has operated since February 2018 and is part of the Government's response to the *Complex Adult Victorian Sex Offender Management Review Panel* – of which all 35 recommendations have now been implemented.

## Quotes attributable to Minister for Corrections Enver Erdogan

"Keeping Victorians safe is our highest priority, which is why we created the Post Sentence Scheme to monitor serious offenders on post-sentence orders."

"Judge Felicity Hampel has demonstrated strong leadership throughout her extensive career, making her well suited to take on the role of Chair."

"I thank both our previous Chair, Michele Williams, as well as our acting Chair Stuart Ward for their hard work and dedication to ensuring a safer community for Victorians."