Media Release

The Hon Melissa Horne MP

Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation Minister for Local Government Minister for Ports and Freight

Minister for Roads and Road Safety

Thursday, 15 February 2024



CHANGES TO COUNCIL ELECTORAL STRUCTURES FORMALISED

The Allan Labor Government is amending the electoral structures of 39 Victorian councils ahead of the 2024 local government general elections in October this year.

Minister for Local Government Melissa Horne announced the upcoming changes today having accepted the recommendation of the Electoral Representation Advisory Panels (ERAPS) — noting these new electoral representation arrangements will ensure councils are more reflective of the communities they represent.

Initially established under the *Local Government Act 2020*, the change in legislation has seen extensive work and engagement from ERAPS over the past 15 months to ensure councils become compliant with the new requirements.

The panels' reviews have been completed with time to allow for candidates and the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) to implement the necessary planning ahead of the general elections.

The structure amendment will see 30 councils change to a single-member ward structure, except in those cases where ERAPs have recommended the council have uniform multi-member wards or an unsubdivided structure.

Four councils will change to a multi-member ward structure: Buloke Shire Council, Northern Grampians Shire Council, Surf Coast Shire Council and Yarriambiack Shire Council.

A further five councils will change to an unsubdivided structure: Campaspe Shire Council, Gannawarra Shire Council, Hepburn Shire Council, Moorabool Shire Council and Strathbogie Shire Council.

Formed in October 2022, the Electoral Representation Advisory Panels provided advice to the Victorian Government on the recommended structures and included community engagement to ensure local views were considered. This work was supported by the VEC who provided technical and administrative support.

The panels subsequently made recommendations for the total number of councillors for each municipality, the ward structure, the number of wards, number of councillors per ward, ward boundaries and names.

The new electoral boundary details are available at <u>localgovernment.vic.gov.au/council-governance/electoral-representation-advisory-panels-eraps</u>

Quotes attributable to Minister for Local Government Melissa Horne

"The Electoral Representation Advisory Panels have delivered thorough work over an extensive period to ensure that Victorian councils will be set up to effectively represent their communities."

"These new ward boundaries will be in place for the local government elections this year – an important step in our work to reform local government and meet the expectations of communities right across Victoria."

Media contact: Alan Padgham 0418 783 688 | alan.padgham@minstaff.vic.gov.au

The 30 councils that will change to a single-member ward structure include:

- Ballarat City Council
- Brimbank City Council
- Casey City Council
- Central Goldfields Shire Council
- Corangamite Shire Council
- Frankston City Council
- Glen Eira City Council
- Greater Bendigo City Council
- Greater Geelong City Council
- Greater Shepparton City Council
- Hobsons Bay City Council
- Horsham Rural City Council
- Hume City Council
- Latrobe City Council
- Maribyrnong City Council
- Melton City Council
- Merri-bek City Council
- Mildura Rural City Council
- Monash City Council
- Moonee Valley City Council
- Mornington Peninsula Shire Council
- Mount Alexander Shire Council
- Port Phillip City Council
- Stonnington City Council
- Wangaratta Rural City Council
- Warrnambool City Council
- Whittlesea City Council
- Wodonga City Council
- Wyndham City Council
- Yarra City Council