Media Release

The Hon Ben Carroll мр Deputy Premier Minister for Education Minister for Medical Research



Friday, 27 October 2023

EDUCATION EXCELLENCE AWARDS WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Victoria's outstanding teachers, principals and support staff in our local schools have been celebrated at the 2023 Victorian Education Excellence Awards (VEEA) – highlighting our talented teams working in Education across the state.

The VEEA inspires teachers, principals, business managers and support staff in Government schools to help students to achieve their best.

Congratulating the winners and finalists at The Plaza Ballroom in central Melbourne last night, Minister for Education Ben Carroll applauded the commitment and passion of teachers, leaders and school staff across Victoria for their incredible work in helping make us the Education State.

Balwyn High School was recognised for its outstanding support for high ability learners and received the Lindsay Thompson Excellence in Education Award, named after the late former Premier and Victoria's longest serving Education Minister.

Werribee Secondary College's work supporting students to deepen their engagement with cultural diversity and global connectedness saw it receive the Dr Lawrie Shears Outstanding Global Teaching and Learning Award.

Wangaratta West Primary School was the recipient of the Outstanding School Improvement award, while Bentleigh West Primary School secured the Outstanding Inclusive Education Team award.

Swan Hill Specialist School was awarded the Outstanding Koorie Education Team prize for its work embedding Indigenous perspectives in learning.

Clare Monk at Warrnambool West Primary School and Kimberley Tempest at Cobram Secondary College were named the state's Outstanding Primary and Secondary Principals. Kendall Heycox of Corryong College and Elevation Secondary College's Alice Hu were also recognised as Oustanding Early Career Primary and Secondary teachers.

This year's awards were held on the day that Australia celebrates World Teachers' Day. The awards support the continued professional development of staff, with professional learning grants of up to \$25,000 for the winner in each category.

For more information on the finalists and the winners, visit vic.gov.au/VEEA.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education Ben Carroll

"Congratulations to all the winners and finalists of this year's Victorian Education Excellence Awards – you do Victoria proud and your big ideas inspire students across the state."

"These awards recognise the work that our amazing school workforce do to motivate and inspire students to pursue their dreams and passions and are a key part of what makes us the Education State."

Victorian Education Excellence Awards Winners 2023:

Lindsay Thompson Excellence in Education: Balwyn High School **Individual Awards:** Outstanding Primary Principal: Clare Monk, Warrnambool West Primary School Colin Simpson Outstanding Secondary Principal: Kimberley Tempest, Cobram Secondary College Outstanding Primary Teacher: Ruth Chambers, Wonthaggi Primary School Outstanding Secondary Teacher: Elizabeth Ferguson, Pascoe Vale Girls College Outstanding Early Career Primary Teacher: Kendall Heycox, Corryong College Outstanding Early Career Secondary Teacher: Alice Hu, Elevation Secondary College Outstanding Physical Education and Activity Teacher: Paul Baks, Belle Vue Park Primary School Outstanding Business Manager: Sharon Veale, Warringa Park School **Team Award Winners:** Outstanding School Improvement: Wangaratta West Primary School Outstanding Education Support Team: Mooroopna Park Primary School Outstanding Inclusive Education Team: Bentleigh West Primary School Outstanding Koorie Education Team: Swan Hill Specialist School Outstanding Provision for High-Ability Students (Primary): Daylesford Primary School Outstanding Provision for High-Ability Students (Secondary): Balwyn High School Dr Lawrie Shears Outstanding Global Teaching and Learning: Werribee Secondary College