Media Release

The Hon Melissa Horne MP

Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation Minister for Local Government Minister for Ports and Freight Minister for Roads and Road Safety



Monday, 3 April 2023

NEW MAYORAL ADVISORY PANEL NAMED FOR 2023

The Andrews Labor Government has announced the Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel for 2023, with 13 mayors from across Victoria.

Comprising a mix of urban, regional and rural mayors, the group represents the diversity of Victorian communities and will join Minister for Local Government Melissa Horne tomorrow for the first of four meetings this year.

The panel changes annually and is set up to offer the Minister advice on legislative, regulatory, strategic and policy issues that affect councils across the state.

This year's panel is expected to focus its work on governance and accountability.

The members of the Local Government Mayoral Advisory Panel are:

- Cr Annemarie McCabe, Baw Baw Shire Council
- Cr Andrea Metcalf, Greater Bendigo City Council
- Cr James Magee, Glen Eira City Council
- Cr Antoinette (Tony) Briffa , Hobsons Bay City Council
- Cr Sophie Price, Indigo Shire Council
- Cr Hadi Saab, Kingston City Council
- Cr Fiona Stevens, Mitchell Shire Council
- Cr Augustina Samardzija, Monash City Council
- Cr Pierce Tyson, Moonee Valley City Council
- Cr Rosie Annear, Mount Alexander Shire Council
- Cr Karen Foster, Moyne Shire Council
- Cr Laura Binks, Strathbogie Shire Council
- Cr Claudia Nguyen, Yarra City Council

For more information, visit localgovernment.vic.gov.au.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Local Government Melissa Horne

"The panel plays an integral role as an advisor on local government matters and local community needs — with a mix of urban, regional and rural mayors offering feedback and advice from all Victorian communities."

"I look forward to chairing this important panel and learning from the experience and advice the members will provide throughout the year."

Media contact: Isobel Loschiavo 0431 963 479 | isobel.loschiavo@minstaff.vic.gov.au