Media Release

The Hon Natalie Hutchins MP Minister for Education Minister for Women



Saturday, 22 October 2022

WINNERS ANNOUNCED FOR EDUCATION EXCELLENCE AWARDS

The Andrews Labor Government has recognised the state's most outstanding teachers and schools at the 2022 Victorian Education Excellence Awards.

Three schools that worked together to get the best out of their students and achieve outstanding educational improvements won the top honour at the awards.

Aldercourt Primary School, Mahogany Rise Primary School and Monterey Secondary College all collaborated on the Frankston North Education Plan to raise the quality, consistency and outcomes of education in Frankston North.

The three schools have taken out the Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education and will share in a further professional learning grant of \$20,000. The Frankston North Education Plan also won the Outstanding School Improvement Award.

Other individual and team award categories included outstanding principal (primary and secondary) – which was awarded to Kim Saddlier at Kangaroo Flat Primary School and Pitsa Binnion at McKinnon Secondary College.

Outstanding teacher (primary and secondary) was awarded to Ruby Russell at the Basin Primary School and Kimberley Zammit at Warringa Park School.

Victoria Harris at Greenhills Primary School took out outstanding business manager, while Mount Waverley Secondary College was awarded outstanding education support and Reservoir East Primary School won outstanding Koorie education.

The Victorian Education Excellence Awards celebrate the state's most inspirational teachers, principals, business managers, support staff and schools that work to improve schools and help students to achieve their best by developing skills and learning outcomes.

The awards also support the continued professional development of staff, with professional learning grants of \$20,000 on offer for each individual award and \$25,000 for each team award.

The winners were chosen from a pool of 39 finalists. For more information, visit vic.gov.au/VEEA

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education Natalie Hutchins

"Congratulations to all the winners and finalists of this year's Victorian Education Excellence Awards – our principals, teachers and support staff play a critical role in making our schools the best in the nation."

"These awards are a fantastic way to recognise and celebrate the invaluable work of the outstanding teachers and leaders in our education system."

Media contact: Sarah Vanin 0410 982 745 | sarah.vanin@minstaff.vic.gov.au

2022 Victorian Education Excellence Award winners:

Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education: Frankston North Education Plan

(Aldercourt Primary School, Mahogany Rise Primary School and Monterey Secondary College)

Individual Awards:

Outstanding Primary Principal: Kim Saddlier, Kangaroo Flat Primary School

Colin Simpson Outstanding Secondary Principal: Pitsa Binnion, McKinnon Secondary College

Outstanding Primary Teacher: Ruby Russell, The Basin Primary School

Outstanding Secondary Teacher: Kimberley Zammit, Warringa Park School

Outstanding Early Career Primary Teacher: Amy Davis, Clyde Creek Primary School

Outstanding Early Career Secondary Teacher: Seamus Kavanagh, Richmond High School

Outstanding Physical Education and Activity Teacher: Alison Dowler, Western Port Secondary College

Outstanding Business Manager Award: Victoria Harris, Greenhills Primary School

Team Awards:

Outstanding School Improvement: Frankston North Education Plan

Outstanding Education Support Team: Mount Waverley Secondary College

Outstanding Inclusive Education: Clifton Springs Primary School

Outstanding Koorie Education: Reservoir East Primary School

Outstanding Provision for High-Ability Students (Primary): Doncaster Gardens Primary School

Outstanding Provision for High-Ability Students (Secondary): Camberwell High School

Media contact: Sarah Vanin 0410 982 745 | sarah.vanin@minstaff.vic.gov.au